In memory of Kammersänger Peter Maus

24 March 1948 - 17 June 2022

In a conversation that took place in 2013 on the occasion of his last performances as a mime in the RHEINGOLD, Peter Maus revealed the motto of his singing life: "Don't overestimate yourself, then others will appreciate you", is this sentence, and it speaks equally of modesty and the ability for critical self-reflection.

Peter Maus als Mime
As Mime in RHEINGOLD © Bettina Stöß
 

In the course of his astonishingly long career, Peter Maus not only remained true to this sentence, but was also able to experience that its second part came true. Even more: Peter Maus was not only appreciated by colleagues and audiences alike, he was perceived by all as an indispensable part of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. Why this was so can be seen just by looking at the large number of roles the tenor embodied at the house over the course of forty years. Since his debut here on 26 February 1974 at the age of 25 in Verdi's IL TROVATORE, he has performed around 100 roles in over 70 stage works.

Ekaterina Sergeeva als Olga, Nicole Car als Tatjana, Peter Maus als Triquet, Ronnita Miller als Filipjewna
As Monsieur Triquet in EUGEN ONEGIN © Bettina Stöß
 

Like a mosaic stone, the image of the artist's personality is composed of many facets: Major roles such as Belmonte in Mozart's DIE ENTFÜHRUNG AUS DEM SERAIL and Mime in RHEINGOLD, smaller roles that demand strong acting and singing presence such as the Fool in Mussorgsky's BORIS GODUNOV and Monsieur Triquet in Tchaikovsky's EUGEN ONEGIN, but also those smallest roles that a singer can only fill credibly if he leaves all vanity aside. Perhaps Wagner was particularly close to his heart as a native of Bayreuth: for twenty years, from 1982 to 2002, he sang regularly at the Bayreuth Festival. Even his last appearance at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 8 December 2019 was in one of his parade roles, the Shepherd in Wagner's TRISTAN UND ISOLDE. But characteristic of Maus's approach to singing is above all the curiosity with which he approached each new role and made it his own - no wonder that among his roles are an above-average number of appearances in works by contemporary composers: Maus has appeared on stage in works by Aribert Reimann and Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Wolfgang Rihm, Mauricio Kagel and Hans Werner Henze, and one of his last roles at the house was the world premiere of a children's opera in the Tischlerei.

Minouche Petrusch, Peter Maus, Florian Bergmann
In the children's opera KLEINES STÜCK HIMMEL © Eike Walkenhorst
 

Peter Maus, who was awarded the title of "Berliner Kammersänger" in 2001, is not only associated with the city of Berlin through his decades of work in the ensemble of the Deutsche Oper Berlin: His combination of openness, collegiality and unprejudiced judgement soon made him a sought-after teacher, since 1995 also as an honorary professor at the Berlin University of the Arts.

Peter Maus © Kranichphoto
 

Now Peter Maus has passed away after a short, serious illness. The Deutsche Oper Berlin mourns the loss of a formative singer-actor and wonderful colleague.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Im Gedenken an den Berliner Kammersänger Peter Maus

24. März 1948 – 17. Juni 2022

In einem Gespräch, das 2013 aus Anlass seiner letzten Auftritte als Mime im RHEINGOLD entstand, verriet Peter Maus die Devise seines Sängerlebens: „Überschätze dich nicht, dann werden dich andere schätzen“, lautet dieser Satz, und aus ihm sprechen gleichermaßen Bescheidenheit und die Fähigkeit zur kritischen Selbstreflexion.

Peter Maus als Mime
Als Mime im RHEINGOLD © Bettina Stöß
 

Im Laufe seiner staunenswert langen Karriere ist Peter Maus diesem Satz nicht nur treu geblieben, sondern hat auch erleben dürfen, dass sich dessen zweiter Teil einlöste. Mehr noch: Peter Maus wurde von den Kollegen wie vom Publikum nicht nur geschätzt, er wurde von allen als ein kaum wegzudenkender Teil der Deutschen Oper Berlin empfunden. Warum das so war, zeigt schon ein Blick auf die Vielzahl der Partien, die der Tenor im Laufe von vierzig Jahren an seinem Haus verkörperte. An die 100 Partien in über 70 Bühnenwerken wurden es, seit er am 26. Februar 1974 hier im Alter von 25 Jahren in Verdis IL TROVATORE debütiert hatte.

Ekaterina Sergeeva als Olga, Nicole Car als Tatjana, Peter Maus als Triquet, Ronnita Miller als Filipjewna
Als Monsieur Triquet in EUGEN ONEGIN © Bettina Stöß
 

Mosaiksteinartig setzt sich das Bild der Künstlerpersönlichkeit so aus vielen Facetten zusammen: Große Partien sind darunter wie Belmonte in Mozarts DIE ENTFÜHRUNG AUS DEM SERAIL und Mime im RHEINGOLD, kleinere Rollen, die gleichwohl starke darstellerische und sängerische Präsenz fordern wie der Narr in Mussorgskys BORIS GODUNOW und der Monsieur Triquet in Tschaikowskys EUGEN ONEGIN, aber auch jene Kleinstrollen, die ein Sänger nur glaubwürdig ausfüllen kann, wenn er jede Eitelkeit beiseitelässt. Vielleicht lag ihm als gebürtigem Bayreuther Wagner besonders am Herzen: Zwanzig Jahre lang, von 1982 bis 2002, sang er regelmäßig bei den Bayreuther Festspielen. Noch sein letzter Auftritt an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 8. Dezember 2019 fand in einer seiner Paraderollen statt, dem Hirten in Wagners TRISTAN UND ISOLDE. Doch charakteristisch für Maus' Zugang zum Gesang ist vor allem die Neugier, mit der er auf jede neue Partie zuging und sie sich zu eigen machte – kein Wunder, dass unter seinen Rollen überdurchschnittlich viele Auftritte in Werken zeitgenössischer Komponisten stehen: Maus stand in Werken von Aribert Reimann und Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Wolfgang Rihm, Mauricio Kagel und Hans Werner Henze auf der Bühne und eine seiner letzten Partien am Haus war die Uraufführung einer Kinderoper in der Tischlerei.

Minouche Petrusch, Peter Maus, Florian Bergmann
In der Kinderproduktion KLEINES STÜCK HIMMEL © Eike Walkenhorst
 

Der Stadt Berlin ist Peter Maus, dem 2001 der Titel eines „Berliner Kammersängers“ verliehen wurde, nicht nur durch sein jahrzehntelanges Wirken im Ensemble der Deutschen Oper Berlin verbunden: Seine Kombination aus Offenheit, Kollegialität und vorurteilsloser Beurteilungsfähigkeit machten ihn bald zu einem gesuchten Lehrer, seit 1995 auch als Honorarprofessor an der Berliner Universität der Künste.

Peter Maus © Kranichphoto
 

Nun ist Peter Maus nach kurzer, schwerer Krankheit verstorben. Die Deutsche Oper Berlin trauert um einen prägenden Sängerdarsteller und wunderbaren Kollegen.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter