Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

RING-Circle 2020

Moving in good circles

The new production of the RING OF THE NIBELUNG would not have been possible without the Society of Friends and Patrons of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and one very special circle of supporters

All further information about the activities of our support circle, about the scholarship holders, the production support and of course about the possibility to become a support circle member yourself can be found at
Förderkreis
der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.

Great ideas need great supporters. And great stories contain eternity at their core – the end of the final chapter heralds a brand-new saga. So it was only natural that the first meeting of the friends and supporters of the new RING production should take place in the wings of the last performance of Götz Friedrich’s version of the RING. The idea to create a dedicated patronage framework to subsidise the development of the new RING was hatched at a fundraising dinner held in Friedrich’s legendary tunnel-shaped set. Having started off with five members, the »Circle 2020« now numbers over fifty Wagner fans from around the world, all of whom have pledged to inject 2,020 euros three times a year. And these Friends of the RING are not only providing financial backing; they also have a personal connection to the project, attending meetings, for instance, between director Stefan Herheim, dramatic advisor Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach and general music director Donald Runnicles and making the acquaintance of Nina Stemme, slated to play Brünnhilde. And a special party is planned for 12th June, when all the gracious spirits of the »Circle« will meet up for the first time on the occasion of the premiere of THE RHINEGOLD – patrons hailing from such disparate locations as Berlin, Santa Fe, New York and San Francisco.

What a fantastic band of friends! As this season preview went to press the Circle had raised over 800,000 euros in aid of the new cycle. Would you, too, like to sign up to the »Circle 2020«? Would you like to help write the next chapter in this story with your donation? And team up with other opera enthusiasts to watch the gestation of a masterpiece from a privileged vantagepoint? Then get in touch with us. Call us on (030 / 343 84 -240) or email us at: loesch@deutscheoperberlin.de

 

André Schmitz ...
Schmitz Chairman of the Society of Friends and Patrons of the Deutsche Oper Berlin
»In 1912 the burghers of Charlottenburg clubbed together to build the Deutsche Oper Berlin, thereby establishing an institution that would cultivate and nurture contemporary opera and honour the legacy of Richard Wagner. On 1st January 1914 the opera house hosted the Berlin premiere of Richard Wagner’s PARCIFAL. It’s terrific to see that opera fans are still getting together on their own initiative and being instrumental in the perpetuation of top-class musical theatre.«

 

Silke Alsweiler-Lösch ...
Secretary of the Society of Friends and Patrons of the Deutsche Oper Berlin
»A brand-new production of such a huge work is an enormously exciting venture. How do director and dramaturg tackle the material? The idea behind the Circle 2020 was always to let people see from close quarters how a new production is put together. For fundraising to succeed, there has to be passion. And passion is what has knitted the »Circlers« together and – quite apart from the pecuniary benefit – united people from around the globe in a quite marvellous way.«

 

Stefan Bartho ...
member of the RING Circle 2020
»I’ve had a close association with the Deutsche Oper Berlin since 1982. The Circle 2020 provided me with an opportunity to make a modest contribution to a very special project and maybe along the way do my bit in helping the RING to attract a new generation of opera fans over the next 30 years. It really is a remarkable thing to be part of a group of like-minded people catching a glimpse of the complex work that goes into a massive production like this.«

 

 

 

Walter Sandvoss ...
member of the RING Circle 2020
»I was over the moon when I heard the Deutsche Oper Berlin was commissioning a new version of the RING. My involvement entitles me to take an active part in events organised exclusively for Circle members. I especially like the evenings with Stefan Herheim, Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, when they give us insights into their deliberations. Plus there are the conversations you have with other opera fans, which I get a lot out of.«

 

Tom and Yoko Arthur ...
members of the RING Circle 2020, Santa Fe, USA
»In 1989 we were in the sold-out auditorium of the John F. Kennedy Center in Washington/DC for the so-called »U-Bahn RING« by Götz Friedrich – the first-ever performance of the RING cycle from start to finish in our national capital. We were blown away. Ever since then we’ve been great admirers of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, its orchestra, the chorus and obviously of maestro Runnicles, whose RING we caught in San Francisco. We were instantly up for it when we heard there was a way for us to assist in the creation of the new RING cycle. We talked 22 members of the Wagner Society of Santa Fe into attending a performance of the RING in Berlin in 2021! This summer TRISTAN UND ISOLDE is coming to our hometown of Santa Fe – the first opera by Wagner to be presented there in thirty years. It’ll be an amazing experience, watching the work in our open-air theatre in the mountains above the desert. You should try and be there!«

 

Our warmest thanks go to the members of the RING Circle 2020 ...

Leo Balk / Dr. Siegfried Bartho / Stefan Bartho / Karl Blatz / Desirée Buschsieweke / Erhard Czemper / Renate Diederich / Dr. Katharina Ehler / Marianne Esser / F. R. Hauk Stahl und Leichtmetallbau GmbH (Franz R. Hauk) / Horst Ihloff / Barbara Ihnow / Atsuko Imamura / Dr. Kilian Jay von Seldeneck / Dr. Marion Knauf / Dr. Karlheinz Knauthe / Rolf Kromat / Dr. Constanze Landt / Dr. Christoph Lehmann / Dr. Markus Leyck Dieken / Dr. Marlies Machens / Dr. Bernd von Maltzan / Verbena Meyer / Ingeborg Neumann / Dr. Alejandra Perez-Cantó / Klaus Prozesky / Walter Sandvoss / André Schmitz / Dr. Rainer W. Schoene / Dr. Cornelius Schwarz / Julia Stoschek / Manfred Strohscheer / Dr. Peter Stueber / Markus Thiem / The Wagner Society of Santa Fé / Richard-Wagner-Verband Berlin-Brandenburg e. V. / Sybille Zehle

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Zum RING-Circle 2020

In guten Kreisen

Ohne den Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin und einen ganz besonderen Zirkel wäre die Neuinszenierung des RING DES NIBELUNGEN nicht möglich gewesen

Alle weiteren Informationen zu den Aktivitäten unseres Förderkreises, über die Stipendiaten, die Produktionsförderung und natürlich über die Möglichkeit, selbst Förderkreismitglied zu werden, finden sie unter
Förderkreis
der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.

Große Ideen brauchen große Unterstützer. Und große Geschichten tragen stets Unendlichkeit in sich – am Ende des letzten Kapitels kündigt sich die neue Saga an. So fand konsequenterweise das erste Treffen des Förderkreises zur Unterstützung der neuen Produktion des RING in den Kulissen der letzten Aufführung von Götz Friedrichs RING-Inszenierung statt. In der legendären Tunneldekoration, bei einem Fundraising Dinner, wurde die Idee geboren, für die Entstehung des neuen RINGs eine ganz besondere mäzenatischen Form zu schmieden. Am Anfang waren es fünf, heute sind es mehr als fünfzig Wagner-Fans aus aller Welt, die Mitglied sind im »Circle 2020«: Sie alle haben sich verpflichtet, drei Mal jährlich 2020 Euro zu zahlen. Die RING-Freunde begleiten die Entstehung des neuen Zyklus nicht nur finanziell; sie sind auch persönlich nah dran, zum Beispiel bei Treffen zwischen Regisseur Stefan Herheim, Dramaturg Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach und Generalmusikdirektor Donald Runnicles. Sogar Nina Stemme, die künftige Brünnhilde, haben sie getroffen. Und eine ganz besondere Feier ist geplant, wenn am 12. Juni zur Premiere von DAS RHEINGOLD wirklich alle guten Geister des »Circle« zum ersten Mal persönlich zusammenkommen und aufeinander treffen – sei es aus Berlin, Santa Fé, New York oder San Francisco.

Welch großartige Freunde: Bis Redaktionsschluss der Saisonvorschau hat der Förderkreis mehr als 800.000 Euro gesammelt, um den neuen Zyklus zu ermöglichen. Auch Sie möchten Mitglied im Circle 2020 werden? Mit Ihrer Spende helfen, dass die Geschichte weitergeschrieben wird? Und die Entstehung eines Meisterwerks aus nächster Nähe miterleben, gemeinsam mit anderen Opern-Begeisterten? Dann nehmen Sie gern Kontakt auf. Rufen Sie uns an (030 / 343 84 -240) oder schreiben Sie eine E-Mail an: loesch@deutscheoperberlin.de

 

André Schmitz ...
Vorsitzender des Vorstandes des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin
»Charlottenburger Bürger haben im Jahr 1912 die Deutsche Oper Berlin erbaut und damit ein Haus begründet, das die zeitgenössische Oper pflegt und immer das Erbe Richard Wagners ehrte – am 1. Januar 1914 fand hier die Berliner Erstaufführung von Richard Wagners PARSIFAL satt. Dass sich auch heute noch Opernfans privat engagieren und so dazu beitragen, dass Musiktheater auf hohem Niveau weiterleben kann, finde ich toll.«

 

Silke Alsweiler-Lösch ...
Leiterin der Geschäftsstelle des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin
»Die Neuproduktion eines so großen Werkes ist ein hochspannendes Unterfangen. Wie nähern sich Regisseur und Dramaturg dem Stoff? Hautnah zu erleben, wie eine Neuinszenierung entsteht: Das war die Idee für den Circle 2020. Fundraising gelingt nur mit Leidenschaft. Sie hat die »Circler« zusammenwachsen lassen und – neben einem guten pekuniären Ergebnis – Menschen aus aller Welt auf wunderbare Weise verbunden.«

 

Stefan Bartho ...
Mitglied im RING-Circle 2020
»Ich bin der Deutschen Oper Berlin seit 1982 eng verbunden. Mit dem Circle 2020 bot sich die Gelegenheit, bei einem besonderen Projekt einen kleinen Betrag zu leisten und damit die Hoffnung zu verbinden, dass der neue RING vielleicht die nächsten 30 Jahre ein neues Publikum begeistert. Einen Einblick zu erhalten, in die komplexe Arbeit an einem solch bedeutenden Werk, im Kreis von anderen Enthusiasten, das ist schon etwas Besonderes.«

 

 

 

Walter Sandvoss ...
Mitglied im RING-Circle 2020
»Ich habe mich sehr gefreut, als ich hörte, dass die Deutsche Oper Berlin einen neuen RING in Auftrag gibt. Durch mein Engagement kann ich aktiv an den exklusiven Veranstaltungen für Circle-Mitglieder teilnehmen. Ein besonderes Erlebnis sind die Abende mit Stefan Herheim, Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, an denen sie Einblick in ihre Überlegungen geben. Eine weitere Bereicherung für mich sind die Gespräche mit den anderen Opern-Liebhabern.«

 

Tom and Yoko Arthur ...
Mitglieder des RING-Circle, Santa Fe, USA
»1989 saßen wir im ausverkauften Saal des John F. Kennedy Centers in Washington/DC und erlebten dort den »U-Bahn- RING« von Götz Friedrich – der erste komplette RINGZyklus, der je in der Hauptstadt unserer Nation aufgeführt wurde. Wir waren hingerissen. Seitdem sind wir Bewunderer der Deutschen Oper Berlin, des Orchesters, des Chors und natürlich von Maestro Runnicles, dessen RING wir in San Francisco hören konnten. Wir waren sofort Feuer und Flamme, als wir die Möglichkeit hatten, die Entstehung des neuen RING-Zyklus zu unterstützen: Wir haben 22 Mitglieder der Wagner Gesellschaft von Santa Fe überzeugt, im November 2021 mit uns in Berlin den RING zu hören! Diesen Sommer wird unsere Heimatstadt Santa Fe TRISTAN UND ISOLDE erleben– die erste Wagner- Oper seit dreißig Jahren. Das wird ein tolles Erlebnis – in unserem Freilufttheater, oben in den Bergen über der Wüste. Kommen Sie vorbei!«

 

Wir danken den Mitgliedern des RING-Circle 2020

Sabine Prinzessin von Anhalt / Leo Balk / Dr. Siegfried Bartho / Stefan Bartho / Karl Blatz / Desirée Buschsieweke / Erhard Czemper / Renate Diederich / Dr. Katharina Ehler / Marianne Esser / F. R. Hauk Stahl und Leichtmetallbau GmbH (Franz R. Hauk) / Horst Ihloff / Barbara Ihnow / Atsuko Imamura / Dr. Kilian Jay von Seldeneck / Dr. Marion Knauf / Dr. Karlheinz Knauthe / Rolf Kromat / Dr. Constanze Landt / Dr. Christoph Lehmann / Dr. Markus Leyck Dieken / Dr. Marlies Machens / Dr. Bernd von Maltzan / Verbena Meyer / Ingeborg Neumann / Dr. Alejandra Perez-Cantó / Klaus Prozesky / Walter Sandvoss / André Schmitz / Dr. Rainer W. Schoene / Dr. Cornelius Schwarz / Julia Stoschek / Manfred Strohscheer / Dr. Peter Stueber / Markus Thiem / The Wagner Society of Santa Fé / Richard-Wagner-Verband Berlin-Brandenburg e. V. / Sybille Zehle