Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Clay Hilley: A place of serenity for my soul … my suitcase

Tenor Clay Hilley sings the title role in Wagner’s SIEGFRIED. Here he describes his transient life – and how he can feel at home wherever he hangs his hat.

Siegfried
The second day of A scenic festival in three days and one eve by Richard Wagner
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Clay Hilley, Ya-Chung Huang, Iain Paterson, Markus Brück, Tobias Kehrer, Lindsay Ammann, Nina Stemme et al.

My suitcase is the place I feel most comfortable. That may sound strange, but it’s true on two counts. I live out of a suitcase for my job, because I’m constantly globe-trotting. And in my downtime I live in what I call my »giant suitcase«. My wife and I bought a 13-metre-long mobile home four years ago. It’s usually parked in a small wood in Georgia, but whenever we get the chance – my wife’s an opera singer, too – we rent a truck, hook up to the trailer, and away we go. We’ve already done three road trips across the States, from New York to San Francisco and back. It’s the best nomadic life you can imagine.

Right now I’m travelling with my wife’s suitcase. It’s small and light and I like the bright mauve colour. It’s got these amazing multi-directional wheels, and it’s great for agility in a crowd when I’m trying to catch a plane. Because I’m always on the move I’ve come up with my own packing routine. I always used to forget something or pack too many things. Now I sit down a few days before my trip and write a list of all the things I really need, and it’s better that way. There are three things I can’t do without: my headphones, my mobile tv antenna and – over the last year – a small tube of disinfectant for my hands. Actually four things: I forgot my cushion. It goes with me everywhere. It’s amazingly soft and stuffs into the tiniest of gaps in my suitcase. Plus, it’s mine. Doesn’t matter where I am: if I’ve got that cushion, I feel at home.

The best kind of nomadic life: the mobile home of Hilley and his wife in a wood in the US state of Georgia, where the tenor grew up © Clay Hilley, private archive
 

In our trailer, too, we have to think carefully about what we need. 13 metres sounds like a lot, but you can’t hoard anything for the sake of it. That said, it really is our little home. We have electricity, three tellies, a king-size bed, a heating system for the winter. Three years back I had a spell in San Francisco doing the RING and we were parked up for three months in the Bay area. We might bring it to Europe in the foreseeable future. My wife’s Jewish grandparents survived the holocaust in Poland and emigrated to the US and she’s just applied for a Polish passport. When she gets it, it’ll be easier for us to live in Europe. By the way, I’m not the only opera singer who lives in a mobile home. I’ve heard there’s a tenor who sings in Bayreuth every year and camps quite close to the Festspielhaus.

I heard Wagner’s RING for the first time in 2014. I was booked to sing Siegfried in Jonathan Dove’s abridged version. I looked at all the text and thought: ‘Cripes!’ And that was only the abbreviated version. My next thought was: ‘Wow, it’s perfect for my voice.’ But it’s not just the pitch that fits; there’s a lot of stuff that Siegfried and me have in common: I grew up in the country around cows and horses. Like him, I don’t take life too seriously. Both of us have a healthy scepticism, so we don’t swallow everything people tell us. And maybe most important: I don’t take ‘no’ for an answer. A lot of people have said I’m too young to do Wagner or I could never sing Verdi or Puccini roles. Rubbish. When I hear statements like that, I go all out to prove the people wrong.

Clay Hilley sings amidst suitcases at the Deutsche Oper Berlin: Suitcases play a key role in Stefan Herheim’s production of SIEGFRIED © Max Zerrahn
 

Obviously there are differences, too. Siegfried is the prototypical hero, quite impulsive, very direct and forthright, quite childlike, actually. My idea of heroism is completely different. For me, heroes do good deeds behind the scenes and stick up for minorities and are part of the struggle for a better world on a daily basis. They’re not in the limelight and don’t expect thanks for doing what they do. It could be a nurse on the night shift, a teacher helping a child progress, someone raising money for a good cause. Then there’s the fact that Siegfried isn’t scared of anything. I feel his fearlessness when I’m singing, especially in the final words of the work when he sings about »shining love / laughing death!« Not even death is frightening to him, whereas I know very well what fear is. It hit me in the stomach last year when the theatres and opera houses closed down due to the pandemic. This time last year I’d signed up as understudy for Siegfried in Chicago – and the entire run was cancelled. That really pulled the carpet from under my feet for a while. So you can guess what it feels like to be able to pack my bags and go singing again.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Clay Hilley: Mein Seelenort ... Der Koffer

Der Tenor Clay Hilley singt die Titelrolle in Wagners SIEGFRIED. Hier erzählt er von seinem mobilen Leben – und wie er unterwegs zuhause sein kann

Siegfried
Zweiter Tag des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend von Richard Wagner
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit Clay Hilley, Ya-Chung Huang, Iain Paterson, Jordan Shanahan, Tobias Kehrer, Judit Kutasi, Nina Stemme u. a.
Premiere am 12. November 2021

Mein Seelenort ist mein Koffer. Das klingt vielleicht seltsam, aber es stimmt gleich doppelt: Für meinen Beruf lebe ich aus dem Koffer, denn ich reise als Opernsänger ständig durch die Welt. Und wenn ich frei habe, lebe ich in etwas, dass ich meinen »giant suitcase« nenne, also meinen riesigen Koffer: Meine Frau und ich haben vor vier Jahren einen 13 Meter langen Wohnwagen gekauft, in dem wir gemeinsam wohnen. Die meiste Zeit steht er in einem Wäldchen in Georgia, aber sobald wir Zeit haben – meine Frau ist auch Opernsängerin –, mieten wir einen Truck, hängen unseren Trailer ein und los geht’s. Wir sind schon drei Mal quer durch die USA gefahren, von New York nach San Francisco und zurück. Es ist das perfekte Nomadenleben.

Gerade bin ich mit dem Koffer meiner Frau unterwegs, er ist klein, leicht und handlich, ich mag auch die Farbe, ein sattes Lila. Er hat diese wundervollen Rollen, mit dem er sich in alle Richtungen drehen lässt, das finde ich äußerst elegant, und wenn es am Flughafen mal schnell gehen muss, bin ich damit wendig, fast tänzerisch. Weil ich so häufig unterwegs bin, habe ich eine eigene Packroutine entwickelt. Früher fehlte mir ständig etwas – oder ich hatte viel zu viel dabei. Nun setze ich mich Tage vor meiner Abreise hin und schreibe eine Liste. Ich wäge genau ab, was ich brauche. Seitdem fühle ich mich immer richtig bepackt. Drei Dinge dürfen für mich auf keiner Reise fehlen: Meine Kopfhörer, meine mobile Fernsehantenne und – seit einem Jahr – eine kleine Tube Desinfektionsmittel für die Hände. Oder warten Sie, da ist noch etwas: mein Kissen. Das habe ich auf jeder Reise dabei. Es ist unfassbar weich und lässt sich in jeden Koffer zusammenknautschen – und vor allem: Es ist mein eigenes. Mit diesem Kissen fühle ich mich zuhause, ganz gleich wo.

Das perfekte Nomadenleben: Der Camper von Clay Hilley und seiner Frau steht in einem Wäldchen in Georgia. Dort ist der Tenor aufgewachsen © Clay Hilley, privat
 

Auch in unserem Wohnwagen müssen wir uns überlegen, was wir brauchen. 13 Meter klingt zwar viel, aber horten kann man da nichts. Aber es ist ein kleines Zuhause: Wir haben Strom, drei Fernseher, ein King-Size-Bett, sogar eine Heizung für den Winter. Vor drei Jahren war ich für den RING in San Francisco engagiert, da standen wir mit dem Ding monatelang in der Bay Area. Vielleicht kommen wir sogar demnächst damit nach Europa? Die jüdischen Großeltern meiner Frau überlebten den Holocaust in Polen und kamen in die USA, meine Frau hat gerade einen polnischen Pass beantragt. Sobald sie den hat, könnten wir einfacher in Europa leben. Ich bin übrigens nicht der einzige Opernsänger im Wohnwagen – ich habe von einem Tenor gehört, der jedes Jahr in Bayreuth singt und dort in der Nähe des Festspielhauses campt.

Wagners RING habe ich 2014 das erste Mal gehört. Damals sollte ich den Siegfried singen, allerdings die gekürzte und gestutzte Version von Jonathan Dove. Ich dachte sofort: Himmel, so viel Text! Dabei war das nur die Kurzversion. Mein nächster Gedanke: Wow, das ist perfekt für meine Tonlage. Aber nicht nur die Stimme passt genau, Siegfried und ich haben viele Gemeinsamkeiten: Ich bin wie er in der Natur aufgewachsen, zwischen Kühen und Pferden. Ich nehme das Leben nicht so furchtbar ernst, genau wie er. Wir sind beide auf eine gesunde Art skeptisch, wir glauben nicht alles, was man uns erzählt. Und, vielleicht das Wichtigste: Ich akzeptiere kein Nein. Mir haben oft Leute gesagt, ich sei viel zu jung, um Wagner zu interpretieren, manche haben gesagt, ich könne niemals Verdi und Puccini singen. Alles Quatsch. Wenn ich so etwas höre, setze ich alles daran, der Welt das Gegenteil zu beweisen.

An der Deutschen Oper Berlin wird Clay Hilley zwischen Koffern singen: In Stefan Herheims SIEGFRIED-Inszenierung spielen sie eine zentrale Rolle © Max Zerrahn
 

Aber es gibt natürlich auch Unterschiede zwischen uns. Siegfried ist der prototypische Held, einer, der nicht nachdenkt, der alles auf direktem Weg erreichen will, auf eine fast kindliche Art. Ich selber habe ein völlig anderes Bild von Helden. Für mich sind Helden diejenigen, die hinter den Kulissen Gutes tun, die sich einsetzen für Minderheiten, die täglich für eine bessere Welt kämpfen. Die keinen Dank erwarten für das, was sie getan haben, die nicht im Rampenlicht stehen. Das kann ein Krankenpfleger im Nachtdienst sein, eine Lehrerin, die ein Kind unterstützt, jemand, der Geld sammelt für einen guten Zweck. Außerdem hat Siegfried keine Angst. Diese Furchtlosigkeit spüre ich beim Singen vor allem in den letzten Zeilen des Stücks: »leuchtende Liebe / lachender Tod!« Er fürchtet nicht einmal den Tod. Ich jedoch kenne die Angst. Ich habe sie stark gespürt, als im vergangenen Jahr die Theater und Opernhäuser wegen der Pandemie schließen mussten. Damals, vor einem Jahr, war ich in Chicago als Zweitbesetzung für den Siegfried gebucht – und alle Vorstellungen wurden abgesagt. Das hat mir für einen Moment den Boden unter den Füßen weggezogen. Umso schöner, dass ich jetzt wieder mein Köfferchen packen und singen darf.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld