Sara Jakubiak: A place of serenity for my soul – Spreepromenade

Soprano Sara Jakubiak sings the title role in FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. On the bank of the Spree river she introduces us to Francesca.

My favourite private place in Berlin is the path along the Spree in the centre of the old town. I went for a walk here on my very first day in the city. I’d sold my furniture in Frankfurt and loaded up a rental van with the rest of my stuff. When I arrived in Berlin in 2018 I wasn’t yet fixed up with my own place to live. I just had a little room where I stashed my few bits and pieces, some favourite coffee cups, a few bits of art, family photos. So I went out and headed for the river to get a feel for the city. I grew up in Michigan, northern US, wedged in by the Great Lakes, so I’m very much in my element around water and I gravitate to it. So there I was, walking along the Spree, dog tired, and yet there was this feeling within me that I’d made it. I bought a pistachio ice cream and I was happy. I’ve been coming back here ever since.

I live in Charlottenburg now, on Savignyplatz, but it’s only a few minutes by S-Bahn to Hackescher Markt. I head off along the bank or over to Museum Island across the bridge by the cathedral. Usually I’m on my own, listening to recordings of someone singing the part I’m learning. I find it easier to memorise the words and melodies when I’m walking. Plus, when I’m on the move with my headphones on, it’s almost like I’m strolling in the company of the character I’m singing.

At the moment I’ve got Francesca in my head, the title role in Zandonai’s FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. Francesca is being married off to Gianciotto, but her family figures she might try and get out of it because he’s so ugly. So instead of Gianciotto they send his hot brother, Paolo, with the marriage contract. Francesca and Paolo fall in love, but then she realises it was a trick and she’s actually meant to wed the brother. Francesca stays true to her newfound love, but there’s no happy ending: the third brother, Malatestino, betrays the lovers and they perish at the end. I have Francesca in my mind’s eye when I’m sauntering along the Spree. She’s got this expression fit to pierce the depths of any ocean.

I once had the opportunity to dive in a submarine to bottom of the Pacific. It was out of this world. The water was heavy and powerful and the surface of the sea floor stretched away, so beautiful. I see Francesca as having the same kind of aura as the sea. And funnily enough this opera has a lot of references to water: one of her first lines is »My soul flows like water«. Later she sings: »Peace in this sea / - so savage yesterday / and like a pearl today - / give me peace!« For me, peace is the at the core of Francesca’s message.

Sara Jakubiak in the Kolonnadenhof of the Alte Nationalgalerie. August Gaul’s lion statue reminds her of her title role in FRANCESCA DA RIMINI © Jonas Holthaus
 

I really identify with her desire for peace, so much so that I can’t help relating it to my own life. Last year we were all being battered by tornados, plus I was one of many people hit hard by the pandemic and I was worrying about the future of our art and my career – and also the future of my country, the US, what with the Black Lives Matter protests, the death toll, the presidency.

I cross the Spree with Francesca to Museum Island. I want to show her the lion statue in front of the Alte Nationalgalerie. I heard a lion roar in Oklahoma Zoo once. Even though the enclosure was far away, the growl and roar pierced me to the marrow. Francesca has the strength of a lion, too. She’s so brave, standing up to everything as she does. She’s staring into the abyss.

It’s the kind of bravery I need when I’m staring into my own abyss – which I’m always having to do, whenever I go out on stage. But when I pluck up the courage, my abyss turns out to be full of colours and not dark at all. That may be because I see notes in terms of colours. It’s at its most intensive when I’m singing live with a large cast. I’m dying to see Francesca’s colours. I’m guessing she’ll be shimmering in the colours of water, maybe a deep blue.

Reminiscent of a stage set: the colonnades on Museum Island - a regular backdrop for Sara Jakubiak on her walks along the banks of the Spree © Jonas Holthaus
 

Francesca reminds me of Heliane, which was a role I had the pleasure of singing a few years back at the Deutsche Oper Berlin – the title character in Korngold’s THE MIRACLE OF HELIANE. Both women are in terrible predicaments. They are challenging the forces of darkness yet still bold enough to walk into the light. They are not scared of living life to the full. A funny thing happened when I was singing Heliane: all my senses seemed to melt into each other and I felt my body vibrating right down to the tips of my fingers. I want to have that with Francesca, too – an instant of perfect peace.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

29
NOV

On 1 December, it's that time again. Our already traditional Advent calendar welcomes you with free admission. Members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin ensembles look forward to shortening the days until Christmas Eve with personalised musical programmes in which you will hear Christmas classics as well as absolute rarities, perhaps never heard before. Just come by and experience our artists up close.

Our Advent Foyer Programme
Enjoy our chamber concerts from Monday to Friday, from 5.00 p.m. to approx. 5.25 p.m., in the rank foyer on the right. Should there be any deviations in the venue or time, you will find a note in the overview. Admission is free.


1 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Dietmar Schwarz reads "The Snow Queen"

2 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
The Little Chorus of the Children's Chorus sings Christmas carols

5 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Old Russian Romances with Maria Motolygina

6 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
Father Christmas comes to visit - together with Elisa Verzier

7 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
"Ding Dong! Merrily on High" - A concert with the VoiceChangers

8 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
Caroling together with the brass band

9 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Beyond the Snow Queen" - Songs by Samuel Penderbayne and others
with Alexandra Ionis, Attilio Glaser and Henriette Zahn

12 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Songs and Arias with Sua Jo and Kyle Miller

13 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Daniel Nicholson sings and presents

14 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Ralph Vaughan Williams' "The House of Life"
with Dean Murphy and Elda Laro

15 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Four Hands" - Piano Music
with John Parr and Christopher White

16 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Tischlerei
South American Songs with Jorge Puerta

19 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Tischlerei
English and Polish Songs
with Maire Therese Carmack, Artur Garbas and Manon Gerhardt

20 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Christmas Carols for Two Tenors”
with Kieran Carrel and Thomas Cilluffo

21 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Chamber music with members of the orchestra

22 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"L'ange et l'enfant" - On the occasion of César Franck's 200th birthday
with Andrea Schwarzbach and Christian Zacker

23 December 2022 | 4.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Brahms songs with Arianna Manganello
Please note the earlier start: 4.00 p.m.


All further information in the respective daily door on our homepage

Raffles at the weekends
Because an Advent calendar is of course also filled at weekends and on Christmas Eve, you will find online raffles on our homepage on Saturdays and Sundays as well as on 24 December. We would like to take this opportunity to thank cooperation partners such as NAXOS and the Yorck cinema group.

Sara Jakubiak: Mein Seelenort – Die Spreepromenade

Die Sopranistin Sara Jakubiak singt die Titelrolle in FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. Auf einem Spaziergang an der Spree stellt sie uns Francesca vor

Mein Seelenort in Berlin ist die Promenade am Spreeufer. Hier bin ich an meinem allerersten Tag in der Hauptstadt spazieren gegangen. Ich hatte in Frankfurt meine Möbel verkauft und alles, was ich noch besaß, in einen Mietwagen geladen. Bei meiner Ankunft 2018 in Berlin hatte ich noch kein richtiges Zuhause, nur einen kleinen Raum, in dem ich meine Habseligkeiten lagerte, ein paar Lieblingskaffeetassen, einige Kunstwerke, Fotos meiner Familie, das war’s. Also ging ich vor die Tür, ans Wasser, um ein Gefühl für die Stadt zu bekommen. Ich wuchs in Michigan auf, im Norden der USA, umgeben von den großen Seen, Wasser ist mein Element, da zieht es mich hin. So lief ich an der Spree entlang, völlig erschöpft – und doch hatte ich das Gefühl, alles erreicht zu haben, kaufte mir ein Pistazieneis und war glücklich. Seitdem komme ich immer wieder hierher.

Jetzt wohne ich am Savignyplatz in Charlottenburg, aber mit der S-Bahn sind es nur ein paar Minuten zur Station Hackescher Markt. Von dort laufe ich los, am Wasser entlang oder über die Brücke am Dom, rüber zur Museumsinsel. Meistens gehe ich allein spazieren, habe meine Kopfhörer auf und höre Aufnahmen der Rollen, die ich gerade studiere. Im Laufen kann ich mir die Texte und Melodien leichter merken und irgendwie ist es mit dieser Musik im Ohr, als würde ich mit meinen Rollen spazieren gehen.

Gerade habe ich Francesca im Ohr, die Titelfigur in Zandonais FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. Francesca soll verheiratet werden, aber ihre Familie vermutet, sie könne den hässlichen Gianciotto ablehnen. Also schicken sie zum Schein seinen hübschen Bruder Paolo, der gleich einen Ehevertrag dabeihat. Francesca verliebt sich in Paolo – und er sich in sie. Sie ist entsetzt, als sie versteht, dass sie betrogen wurde und den hässlichen Bruder heiraten muss. Francesca steht für ihre Liebe ein, aber die Geschichte endet schrecklich: Der dritte Bruder, Malatestino, verrät die Liebenden, am Ende sind beide tot. Ich sehe Francesca vor meinem geistigen Auge, wenn ich mit ihr an der Spree entlangspaziere. Sie hat diesen Blick, der selbst die Dunkelheit der Tiefsee durchdringt.

Ich durfte mal mit einem U-Boot im Pazifik auf den Meeresboden tauchen und fühlte mich, als wäre ich nicht in dieser Welt, das Wasser war kraftvoll und schwer, die Landschaft des Meeresbodens weit und wunderschön. Für mich hat Francesca diese Aura des Meeres. Und es gibt tatsächlich eine Menge Anspielungen auf Wasser in der Oper: »Meine Seele ist wie fließendes Wasser«, ist eine ihrer ersten Zeilen, später singt sie: »Frieden in diesem Meer / Das gestern so wild war / Und heute wie eine Perle ist / Gib mir Frieden!« – Frieden: Das ist für mich der Kern von Francescas Botschaft.

Sara Jakubiak im Kolonnadenhof vor der Alten Nationalgalerie. August Gauls Löwenstatue erinnert sie an die Titelrolle in FRANCESCA DA RIMINI © Jonas Holthaus
 

Ich fühle mich diesem Wunsch nach Frieden so verbunden, ich kann nicht anders, als ihn mit meinem eigenen Leben in Verbindung zu setzen. Im vergangenen Jahr waren wir alle umgeben von Wirbelstürmen, auch mir hat die Pandemie sehr zugesetzt, die Fragen nach der Zukunft unserer Kunst, meiner Karriere – aber auch nach der meines Landes, den USA; die Black Lives Matter-Proteste, die vielen Toten, die Präsidentschaft.

Ich überquere mit Francesca die Spree, wir laufen rüber zur Museumsinsel. Ich will ihr die Löwenstatue zeigen, die dort vor der Alten Nationalgalerie steht. Ich habe einmal im Zoo von Oklahoma einen Löwen brüllen hören. Das Gehege war weit weg, aber dieses Dröhnen und Grollen ging mir durch Mark und Bein. Auch Francesca hat die Kraft der Löwen. Sie ist so mutig, stellt sich gegen alle Widerstände. Sie schaut in den Abgrund.

Diesen Mut brauche ich, wenn ich in meine eigenen Abgründe schaue – und das muss ich ständig, jedes Mal, wenn ich auf die Bühne gehe. Doch wenn ich mich endlich traue, dann ist in meinem Abgrund gar kein Dunkel: Dann sind da nur Farben. Vielleicht liegt das daran, dass ich Noten und Töne als Farben wahrnehme. Besonders stark ist das, wenn ich live mit großer Besetzung singe. Ich bin sehr gespannt darauf, Francescas Farben kennenzulernen. Ich vermute, dass sie in den Farben des Wassers schimmert, vielleicht in einem tiefen Blau.

Wie ein Bühnenbild wirkt der Kolonnadengang auf der Museumsinsel. Auf ihren Spaziergängen an der Spree kommt Sara Jakubiak auch hier vorbei © Jonas Holthaus
 

Mich erinnert Francesca an Heliane, die ich vor einigen Jahren an der Deutschen Oper Berlin singen durfte, die Titelfigur in Korngolds DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE. Beide Frauen sind mit fürchterlichen Situationen konfrontiert. Sie stellen sich der Dunkelheit – aber sie wagen es auch, ins Licht zu gehen. Sie haben keine Angst vor einem erfüllten Leben. Ich hatte ein Erlebnis, während ich Heliane sang: Alle meine Sinne verschmolzen, alles vibrierte bis in die Fingerspitzen. So einen Moment möchte ich auch mit Francesca erleben: einen Moment der völligen Ruhe.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

26
NOV

Adventskalender 2022

Am 1. Dezember ist es wieder soweit. Unser schon traditioneller Adventskalender heißt Sie bei freiem Eintritt herzlich willkommen. Die neuen Ensemblemitglieder freuen sich darauf, Ihnen die Tage bis Heiligabend mit persönlich gestalteten musikalischen Programmen zu verkürzen, bei denen Sie neben weihnachtlichen Klassikern auch absolute Raritäten, vielleicht noch nie Gehörtes zu Ohren bekommen. Kommen Sie doch einfach vorbei und erleben Sie unsere Künstler*innen aus nächster Nähe.

Unser adventliches Foyer-Programm
Besuchen Sie unsere Kammerkonzerte von Montag bis Freitag, jeweils von 17.00 bis ca. 17.25 Uhr, im Rangfoyer rechts. Sollte es Abweichungen im Veranstaltungsort oder bei der Uhrzeit geben, finden Sie eine Notiz in der Übersicht. Der Eintritt ist frei.

1. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Dietmar Schwarz liest „Die Schneekönigin“

2. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Der Kinderchor singt weihnachtliche Lieder

5. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Alte russische Romanzen mit Maria Motolygina

6. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Der Nikolaus kommt zu Besuch – gemeinsam mit Elisa Verzier

7. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
„Ding Dong! Merrily on High“ – Ein Konzert mit den VoiceChangers

8. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Kammermusik mit Orchestermitgliedern

9. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Jenseits der Schneekönigin“ – Lieder von u. a. Samuel Penderbayne
mit Alexandra Ionis, Attilio Glaser und Henriette Zahn

12. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Lieder und Arien mit Sua Jo und Kyle Miller

13. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Daniel Nicholson singt und moderiert

14. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Ralph Vaughan Williams’ „The House of Life“
mit Dean Murphy und Elda Laro

15. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Vierhändiges“ – Klaviermusik
mit John Parr und Christopher White

16. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Tischlerei
Südamerikanische Lieder mit Jorge Puerta

19. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Tischlerei
Englische und polnische Lieder
mit Maire Therese Carmack, Artur Garbas und Manon Gerhardt

20. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Christmas Carols for Two Tenors“
mit Kieran Carrel und Thomas Cilluffo

21. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Gemeinsames Weihnachtssingen mit den Blechbläsern

22. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„L'ange et l'enfant“ – Zu César Francks 200. Geburtstag
mit Andrea Schwarzbach und Christian Zacker

23. Dezember 2022 | 16.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Brahms-Lieder mit Arianna Manganello
Bitte beachten Sie den früheren Beginn: 16.00 Uhr


Alle weiteren Informationen im jeweiligen Tages-Türchen auf unserer Homepage

Verlosungen an den Wochenenden
Weil ein Adventskalender selbstverständlich auch an Wochenenden und an Heiligabend gefüllt ist, finden Sie an Samstagen und Sonntagen sowie am 24. Dezember Online-Verlosungen auf unserer Homepage. Wir danken schon an dieser Stelle Kooperationspartnern wie NAXOS oder der Yorck-Kinogruppe.