Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

What moves me

Struggling to hit the right note

Andrej Koroliov aims for maximum focus and even goes on a diet when composing a piece of music – and the work he is currently working on for the Tischlerei is no different. World premiere: September 2021 … Andrej Koroliov on his method of writing music.

The Men Passing By 
Music theatre by Andrej Koroliov on a text by Gerhild Steinbuch after an idea by Theresa von Halle based on Franz Kafka's work of the same name.
World premiere: 24 September 2021

When I’m composing, I’m constantly mentally talking through the pros and cons. If I write a few notes and they don’t give me a buzz, I don’t just cross them out; I set down my thoughts in complete sentences, on paper, about why I don’t like them. For example: »Bars 20-24: don’t yet like – only a gut feeling as yet – What’s the problem? Which aspects of the music are not good?« My dissatisfaction early on is never more than a hunch, but that doesn’t mean I can just let it go; gut feelings lead to bad places and bad things. So I start pondering and I may discover an element of the rhythm that’s an irritant or surplus to requirements. Or the instrumentation is wrong or there’s repetition where there doesn’t have to be any.

I’m old school and write music down on staff paper. I write the notes and then more sentences of reflection on what I’ve just composed. And so on. Composition is a dialectic process, philosophical, almost religious. There comes a point when it takes on a life of its own. The notes acquire an inner logic and their sequencing can’t be disputed. From then on the composer is increasingly irrelevant. Composition means self-effacement. The ‘I’ has to disappear.

The struggle with notes is apparent from the thoughts jotted by Koroliov on the sheet music of his latest composition. © Andrej Koroliov
 

My new chamber opera is about averting one’s gaze out of fear, about moral courage and how it can crumble and fall. Delicate themes like that often fail onstage. Using Franz Kafka’s The Passers-By as source material, author Gerhild Steinbuch has written a disturbing, jolting text that explores the same subject and employs a lot of repetition. As a composer, I’m forced to treat it as if I were learning a language from scratch. The libretto is quite prescriptive, so I’ve been learning the text by heart and immersing myself in it.

Then I try to get in touch with the music. It’s like I have to address each note and each instrument head-on and say »hello«. The piece has four singers, an actress and a small ensemble consisting of two low strings, piano, trombone and a saxophonist, whom director Theresa von Halle also deploys as an actress. The music uses repetitions that shift and alter in tiny increments. First and foremost, however, the music aims to touch, engage, challenge and irritate the audience.

When I sit down to compose, I have to make some kind of personal gesture that says that change is taking place or a process is being kick-started. It might be a diet – like the one I’m on at the moment, where I’m avoiding sugar, flour and alcohol – or physical exercise or even something really way-out. You have to keep trying to find what is useful in that particular chapter of your life and be flexible rather than dogmatic. It’s only ever about the work at hand, not about me and my body or ego. If I knew it would help, I’d even restrict myself to a diet of bockwurst. As a rule, I have to be in a good place creatively. When the going gets tough, we tend to tighten up and develop a carapace, but as an artist I want to stay permeable.

Hamburger composer and pianist Andrej Koroliov. He is currently a stipendiary living and working at the Villa Massimo in Rome © Andrej Koroliov
 

With composition you’re essentially relearning the process with every new work. In his day Joseph Haydn could be working simultaneously on six symphonies, all of which shared a particular style. Nowadays we basically have to reinvent our musical language every time we compose a new work. I am absolutely convinced of the power of music to move and affect people. We have to let »music« back in. It’s risky and involves nothing less than a backward-looking hostility towards projecting an image. Musicians shouldn’t be stars; they should be humble and believe in what they’re doing and trust in their vision. To move people with your music, you first have to be moved by it yourself.

I’m not daunted anymore by the risk of failure. I’m a fan of Hamburg SV, which is painful, even awful at times, but you just have to keep going, like in life. Being disillusioned again and again is bigger than football; it’s art in all its manifestations. And if you look at it in that way, it’s becomes amazing again. That’s how I see music: scaled up to mythological dimensions.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Was mich bewegt

Ringen um jeden Ton

Andrej Koroliov sucht maximale Konzentration und hält sogar eine Diät ein, wenn er komponiert. So entsteht ein neues Stück für die Tischlerei. Uraufführung: September 2021 … Der Komponist Andrej Koroliov über seine Art, Musik zu schreiben

Die Vorüberlaufenden
Musiktheater von Andrej Koroliov auf einen Text von Gerhild Steinbuch nach einer Idee von Theresa von Halle basierend auf Franz Kafkas gleichnamigem Werk
Uraufführung am 24. September 2021

Wenn ich komponiere, diskutiere ich mit mir selbst. Sobald ich ein paar Noten aufschreibe und es gefällt mir nicht, streiche ich sie nicht einfach nur durch, sondern ich überlege schriftlich, schreibe aufs Blatt, in ganzen Sätzen, warum es mir nicht gefällt. Das sieht zum Beispiel so aus: »Takt 20-24 – gefällt mir noch nicht – das ist bisher nur ein Bauchgefühl – woran könnte es liegen, um welche Aspekte der Musik geht es?« Mein Missfallen ist am Anfang immer nur ein Bauchgefühl; aber dabei darf es nicht bleiben, von Bauchgefühlen allein wird die Welt gefährlich. Ich denke also nach, finde vielleicht heraus, ob da eine rhythmische Figur überflüssig ist oder stört. Oder ob die Instrumentierung falsch ist oder sich etwas in der Musik wiederholt, obwohl es das nicht muss.

Ich schreibe meine Musik zunächst klassisch auf Notenpapier. Ich schreibe Noten, dann wieder Sätze, in denen ich über die geschriebenen Noten nachdenke, und so weiter. Komponieren ist ein dialektischer Prozess, philosophisch, fast schon religiös. Irgendwann bekommt das Werk ein Eigenleben. Die Töne entwickeln eine innere Logik, sie müssen so sein, wie sie sind. Der Komponist wird dabei immer unwichtiger. Komponieren heißt: mich abschaffen. Das Ich muss verschwinden.

Der Kampf mit den Tönen zeigt sich auch auf den Notenblättern mit Koroliovs Notizen zu seiner aktuellen Komposition © Andrej Koroliov
 

In meiner neuen Kammeroper geht es um das Wegschauen aus Angst, um die Zivilcourage und wie sie scheitert. Solche brisanten Themen misslingen oft. Basierend auf dem kleinen Text Die Vorüberlaufenden von Franz Kafka hat die Autorin Gerhild Steinbuch einen Text geschrieben, der das Thema umkreist, viel mit Wiederholungen arbeitet, der verstört und wachrüttelt. Ich als Komponist muss damit umgehen, als würde ich eine neue Sprache lernen. Das Libretto gibt mir viel vor, ich lerne es auswendig, tauche ganz in den Text ein.

Und dann versuche ich, die Musik zu spüren, ich muss quasi jedem Instrument und jedem Ton einmal »Guten Tag« sagen. Bei diesem Stück gibt es vier Sänger, eine Schauspielerin und ein kleines Ensemble. Das Ensemble besteht aus zwei tiefen Streichern, Klavier, Posaune und einer Saxophonistin, die von der Regisseurin Theresa von Halle auch als Darstellerin inszeniert wird. Die Musik arbeitet mit Wiederholungen, die sich ganz langsam verändern. Vor allem aber soll sie herausfordern, beschäftigen, berühren, ärgern.

Wenn ich komponiere, muss ich ein Zeichen für mich setzen, dass etwas sich verändert und in Gang kommt. Das kann zum Beispiel eine Diät sein – wie gerade jetzt, wo ich auf Zucker, Mehl und Alkohol verzichte – oder Körperarbeit, aber auch etwas komplett Konträres. Man muss immer testen, was gerade hilft und flexibel statt ideologisch sein. Es geht immer nur um das Stück und nicht um mich und meinen Körper oder mein Ego. Wenn ich wüsste, dass es hilft, würde ich mich auch ausschließlich von Bockwürsten ernähren. Generell muss ich auf der Höhe meiner Leistungsfähigkeit sein. Im Stress der Arbeit wird man schnell fest und verpanzert, aber als Künstler will ich durchlässig bleiben.

Der Hamburger Komponist und Pianist Andrej Koroliov. Zur Zeit lebt und arbeitet er im Rahmen eines Stipendiums in der Villa Massimo in Rom © Andrej Koroliov
 

Komponieren muss man im Prinzip mit jedem Werk neu lernen. Joseph Haydn durfte noch sechs Sinfonien am Stück komponieren, die einander stilistisch ähnlich waren. Wir müssen heute mit jedem Werk die Musik als Sprache neu erfinden. Ich glaube im emphatischen Sinne an die Kraft der Musik, Menschen zu bewegen. Wieder »Musik« zulassen, das ist ein Wagnis und bedeutet nichts weniger als rückwärtsgewandte Reflexionsfeindlichkeit. Musiker sollten keine Stars sein, sondern Demut üben und an ihre Sache glauben und ihr vertrauen. Wer die Leute bewegen will, muss zuerst sich selbst bewegen.

Die Gefahr des Scheiterns schreckt mich nicht mehr. Ich bin HSV-Fan. Das ist wie das Leben, es tut weh, es ist immer wieder aufs Neue schrecklich, aber man macht immer weiter. Diese ewige Enttäuschung ist mehr als Fußball, das ist Kunst, und wenn man es so sieht, ist es wieder großartig. So sehe ich auch Musik – in großen mythologischen Dimensionen.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld