Siegfried - The Synopsis

Siegfried
The second day of A scenic festival in three days and one eve by Richard Wagner
Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles
Staging: Stefan Herheim
With Clay Hilley, Ya-Chung Huang, Iain Paterson, Jordan Shanahan, Tobias Kehrer, Judit Kutasi, Nina Stemme et al.
Premiere on 12 November 2021

 

Act I
 

The giant Fafner has transformed himself into a dragon and is guarding the ring of the Nibelungs along with the hoard in a cave. Knowing that Fafner can only be killed by Nothung, Mime the smith has brought Siegfried up solely for that purpose and kept the fragments of the sword. Yet Mime himself is unable to forge it anew. The boisterous and guileless Siegfried loathes Mime and cannot believe he is both father and mother to him. The dwarf is evasive and accuses Siegfried of ingratitude; Siegfried increasingly threatens him with violence. It’s only when Siegfried discovers the sword fragments that Mime tells the truth: he had found Sieglinde in the forest; she gave birth to Siegfried and died – leaving him only his father’s shattered sword. Siegfried commands Mime to forge it, and storms out. The dwarf remains behind in despair.

In the guise of a wanderer Wotan enters Mime’s workshop. As Mime tries to get rid of the uninvited guest, Wotan presses him to take part in a battle of wits, staking his own head if he loses. Mime grudgingly agrees and poses three questions, all of which the Wanderer answers right. The latter now demands that Mime in turn wager his head on correctly solving his riddles. Mime is at first able to answer, but stumbles on the third question. Wotan gloatingly reveals the answer to the despairing dwarf: Nothung can only be forged anew by someone who doesn’t know fear. To just such a person Wotan forfeits the defeated dwarf’s head.

All Mime’s attempts to teach Siegfried fear come to naught. Finally he suggests that Siegfried learn it from Fafner the dragon, whose cave lies on the path to the world beyond, which Siegfried wants to explore. The latter now files down his father’s sword, smelts the splinters and reforges Nothung himself. Mime meanwhile prepares a sleeping draught which he’ll give Siegfried once he has killed the dragon. Jubilantly the two of them set off for Fafner’s cave.

 

Act II
 

The imp of darkness Alberich is keeping watch outside Fafner’s cave, intent on regaining the ring. Wotan’s appearance revives the old animosity between them. The Lord of Light declares he has no further interest in the ring and suggests that Alberich warn the sleeping dragon of the fearless hero that is approaching – maybe Fafner will reward him for it. The dragon is unperturbed, however, and goes back to sleep. Laughing, Wotan leaves Alberich thirsting for revenge.

As soon as they reach Fafner’s cave Siegfried chases away the dwarf. In the shade of a tree he thinks of his parents and hears a bird singing. He tries to respond by playing on a reed; when that doesn’t work he tries his horn, which wakes Fafner. The lad threatens to attack the dragon if it doesn’t teach him to fear. A fierce fight develops and Siegfried plunges Nothung into Fafner’s heart. As he dies, he tells of his brother Fasolt, whom he killed to get hold of the accursed ring. The warning doesn’t register with Siegfried. But when he pulls his sword out of the dead dragon and puts his blood-smeared hand to his mouth, he finds he understands the voice of the woodbird. Following its advice, he climbs into the cave to fetch the ring and the tarnhelm.

Both lying in wait, Mime and Alberich argue over the coveted treasure. When Siegfried comes back out of the cave, the woodbird warns him of Mime, who inadvertently reveals to Siegfried his hypocritical intention to murder him, whereupon Siegfried strikes him dead. In his solitude, Siegfried is told by the woodbird of the wonderful woman that is lying asleep on a rocky summit surrounded by fire and can only be woken by a fearless hero.

 

Act III
 

Wotan is sure that Brünnhilde, whom Siegfried is to awaken, will perform the deed that redeems the world, and he no longer fears his own end. Nevertheless he wakes the all-knowing, primevally wise Erda from her deep sleep and pressures her to answer him. When she denies his divine power, he repudiates her “earth-mother’s wisdom” and consigns her to everlasting sleep.

Then Wotan confronts Siegfried, his grandson, and asks him questions with imperious pride. Siegfried is angered and mocks the old, one-eyed wanderer. When the latter declares he is the guardian of the blazing rock, and blocks Siegfried’s path, he shatters the spear that once slew his father. Wotan withdraws.

Siegfried fearlessly traverses the sea of flame and reaches Brünnhilde, who is asleep in her armour. Only when he removes her shield, helmet and chain mail does he realise with terror that it is a woman. After hesitating shyly, he kisses Brünnhilde awake, and she exuberantly greets the radiant hero. But the force of Siegfried’s desire makes her aware of how ignorantly self-satisfied her hero is and how violable she is. The once divine now mortal woman implores him to leave her be, but ultimately she surrenders to the transports of human love, prefiguring the twilight of the gods.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

06
DEC

Today in the foyer: "St. Nicholas is coming
17.00 h / Rank foyer on the right
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


The visit of Father Christmas is a cherished tradition at the Advent Calendar of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. This time we encourage our younger guests to get active themselves and share with us their favourite experiences from the past year. While enchanting music plays and Father Christmas is sure to have a sweet or two in his luggage, we invite you to take part in a small interactive activity. This year, our Father Christmas will be accompanied by the young Italian soprano Elisa Verzier.

In 2016 she made her debut at the Teatro Verdi di Trieste in Mendelssohn's EIN SOMMERNACHTSTRAUM and as Serpina in Paisiello's LA SERVA PADRONA. Her church music repertoire includes Mozart's "Coronation Mass", Handel's "Messiah", John Rutter's "Mass of the Children" and several pieces by Pergolesi, Schubert and Bach. Elisa Verzier has won numerous competitions. Her next engagements include Norina / DON PASQUALE in Trieste and La Contessa / LA SCUOLA DEI GELOSI in Turin. In the 2022/23 season she is engaged as a scholarship holder of the Förderkreis in the ensemble of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where she will sing Pamina / DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE, Marzelline / FIDELIO, Frasquita / CARMEN, Musetta / LA BOHÈME and Zerlina / DON GIOVANNI, among others.

"Siegfried" - Die Handlung

 

Siegfried
Zweiter Tag des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend von Richard Wagner
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit Clay Hilley, Ya-Chung Huang, Iain Paterson, Jordan Shanahan, Tobias Kehrer, Judit Kutasi, Nina Stemme u. a.
Premiere am 12. November 2021

 

 

Erster Aufzug

 

Der Riese Fafner hat sich in einen Drachen verwandelt und hütet als solcher den Ring des Nibelungen samt Hort in einer Höhle. Wissend, dass Fafner nur mit Nothung getötet werden kann, hat der Schmied Mime allein dafür Siegfried großgezogen und die Stücke des Schwerts aufbewahrt. Dieses neu zu fügen bleibt Mime jedoch verwehrt. Der übermütig einfältige Siegfried kann Mime nicht leiden und will nicht glauben, dass dieser ihm Vater und Mutter zugleich sein soll. Dem ihm ständig ausweichenden und Undankbarkeit vorwerfenden Zwerg droht Siegfried zunehmend Gewalt an. Erst als Siegfried die Schwertstücke entdeckt, erzählt Mime die Wahrheit: Einst fand er Sieglinde im Wald; sie gebar Siegfried und starb – ihm einzig das zerschlagene Schwert des Vaters hinterlassend. Siegfried befiehlt Mime, es zu schweißen und stürmt hinaus. Der Zwerg bleibt ratlos zurück.

In der Gestalt eines Wanderers betritt Wotan Mimes Werkstatt. Da dieser versucht, den ungebetenen Gast loszuwerden, drängt Wotan ihm eine Wissenswette auf, sein eigenes Haupt aufs Spiel setzend. Mime willigt verdrossen ein und stellt drei Fragen, die der Wanderer allesamt beantwortet. Nun fordert dieser seinerseits, Fragen um das Haupt Mimes beantwortet zu bekommen. Der Zwerg weiß zunächst Auskunft zu geben, stolpert aber in Verzweiflung über die dritte Frage, deren Lösung Wotan ihm schadenfreudig kundtut: Nur wer sich nicht fürchte, könne Nothung neu fügen. Just diesem überlässt Wotan das Haupt des geschlagenen Zwerges.

Jeder Versuch Mimes, Siegfried das Fürchten beizubringen, scheitert. Schließlich rät er ihm, dies vom Drachen Fafner zu lernen, dessen Höhle ohnehin auf dem Weg zur weiten Welt läge, in die Siegfried hinausziehen will. Dieser zerreibt nun das Schwert seines Vaters, schmilzt die Späne und schmiedet sich selbst Nothung neu. Derweil braut Mime einen Schlaftrunk, den er Siegfried einflößen will, sobald dieser den Drachen getötet hat. Jauchzend machen sich beide zur Höhle Fafners auf.

 

 

Zweiter Aufzug

 

Um den Ring wiederzuerlangen, wacht der Nachtalb Alberich vor Fafners Höhle. Wotans Erscheinen lässt die alte Feindschaft der beiden neu aufflammen. Der Lichtalb versichert ihm aber, kein Interesse mehr am Ring zu haben und rät ihm, den schlummernden Drachen vor dem nahenden, furchtlosen Helden zu warnen – vielleicht lohne es ihm ja Fafner. Der Drache lässt sich aber nicht einschüchtern und legt sich wieder zum Schlafen hin. Lachend lässt Wotan den von Rachegelüsten zerfressenen Alberich zurück.

Sobald sie Fafners Höhle erreicht haben, jagt Siegfried den Zwerg fort. Im Schatten eines Baumes denkt er an seine Eltern und hört einen Vogel zwitschern. Vergeblich versucht er, diesem auf einem Rohr zu antworten; als er es mit seinem Horn versucht, weckt er jedoch Fafner. Der Jüngling droht, dem Drachen zu Leibe zu rücken, brächte dieser ihm das Fürchten nicht bei. Sogleich tobt ein Kampf, in dem Siegfried Fafner Nothung ins Herz sticht. Der Sterbende erzählt von seinem Bruder Fasolt, den er einst um den verfluchten Ring erschlug. Siegfried erfasst die Warnung nicht, doch sobald er sein Schwert aus dem Toten zieht und seine blutverschmierte Hand zum Mund führt, versteht er die Stimme des Waldvogels. Dessen Rat befolgend steigt er in die Drachenhöhle, um Ring und Tarnhelm zu holen.

Lauernd geraten Mime und Alberich in Streit um den begehrten Schatz. Als Siegfried wieder aus der Höhle kommt, warnt ihn das Waldvöglein vor Mime, der Siegfried seine heuchlerischen Mordpläne nun unabsichtlich offenbart, worauf er von Siegfried niedergestreckt wird. Einsam wird dieser schließlich vom Waldvogel auf das wonnigste Weib verwiesen, das schlafend auf einem feuerumschlossenen Felsen liegt und einzig vom furchtlosen Helden erweckt werden kann.

 

Dritter Aufzug

 

Wotan ist sich der Welt erlösenden Tat durch die von Siegfried zu erweckende Brünnhilde gewiss und fürchtet sein eigenes Ende nicht mehr. Dennoch weckt er die allwissende Urweltweise Erda aus tiefem Schlaf und bedrängt sie. Als sie ihm seine Gottmacht abspricht, schwört er der Urmütter-Weisheit ab und übergibt sie dem ewigen Schlaf.

Dann stellt sich Wotan Siegfried und fragt seinen Enkel in selbstherrlichem Stolz aus. Siegfried fühlt sich provoziert und verspottet den alten, einäugigen Wanderer. Als dieser sich als Hüter des Feuerfelsens zu erkennen gibt und Siegfried den Weg versperrt, zerschlägt dieser den Speer, der einst seinen Vater fällte. Wotan zieht sich zurück.

Furchtlos durchbricht Siegfried das Flammenmeer und gelangt zu der in Waffen schlafenden Brünnhilde. Erst durch Abnahme von Schild, Helm und Brünne erkennt er furchtergriffen, dass es sich um eine Frau handelt. Nach scheuem Zögern küsst er Brünnhilde wach, die den leuchtenden Helden überschwänglich begrüßt. Doch als Siegfried sie stürmisch begehrt, wird sich Brünnhilde der unwissenden Selbstgefälligkeit ihres Helden und ihrer eigenen Wehrlosigkeit gleichermaßen bewusst. Sie fleht ihn an, von der einst Göttlichen zu lassen, gibt sich aber schließlich dem seligen Taumel menschlicher Liebe hin im Zeichen der Götterdämmerung.

 

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter