Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field





Newsletter

About the Chorus - Deutsche Oper Berlin

The chorus is the beating heart of any opera company’s onstage presence, and none more so than the Chor der Deutschen Oper. One of the busiest choruses of their calibre anywhere in the world, they can be seen and heard night after night devoting heart and soul to a vast range of works; equally at home in new productions and in their enormous repertoire, the Chor der Deutschen Oper performs around 35 titles over the course of the season, from the great Wagner operas such as Lohengrin and Tannhäuser for which they are particularly renowned, to world premières such as Detlev Glanert’s recent International Opera Award-winning Oceane.

The Chor der Deutschen Oper has been captivating its audiences since the inaugural performances of Fidelio at the house’s opening in 1912. When their first chorus director, Hans Leschke, left after a few years to devote himself to the study of sedges in California, he handed the reins to his assistant Hermann Lüddecke, whose leadership was to provide a stabilising influence well into the post-war years; his Germanic approach can be heard to great effect in such celebrated recordings as the Eugen Jochum Carmina Burana, which cemented the chorus’s world renown. The second half of the twentieth century was dominated by their work with the influential Walter Hagen-Groll, who built upon and expanded Lüddecke’s stylistic approach and left a powerful legacy, leaving a great number of celebrated recordings to the chorus’s name.

The changing times brought a more internationalist outlook, and a fresh renaissance ocurred under the leadership of American William Spaulding, under whose tenure the chorus was crowned Opernwelt’s Chorus of the Year three times in quick succession from 2008 to 2010, and enjoyed rave reviews for its guest performances of Tannhäuser and Verdi’s Requiem at the BBC Proms.

Since current chorus director Jeremy Bines’s arrival from Glyndebourne in 2017, the Chor der Deutschen Oper has continued to inspire, impress and delight the opera-goers of Berlin and the world, gaining triumphant critical praise for their performances in such epic works as Le prophète and Das Wunder der Heliane, as well as playing pivotal roles in the Opera Award-winning production of Detlev Glanert’s Oceane in 2019, DOB’s monumental Meyerbeer cycle (completed just before lockdown in 2020), and the Grammy-nominated DVD of Der Zwerg.  They were proud to be nominated for Chorus of the Year at the International Opera Awards 2021, and since the opening of the 2021-2 season have been singled out by critics for their performances of Britten’s War Requiem in the Berlin Philharmonie, and in DOB’s new Götterdämmerung. – Jeremy Bines

European Chorus Award, presented by Pro Europa Foundation
Opera Chorus of the Year 2008, Opera Chorus of the Year 2009, Opera Chorus of the Year 2010, presented by magazine "Opernwelt"

Jeremy Bines joined the Deutsche Oper Berlin as Chorus Director at the start of the 2017/18 season. Born in Belfast, and of British, Irish and German heritage, Bines studied at Cambridge University and the National Opera Studio in London. Having worked for a number of years as a freelance répétiteur for such companies as the Royal Opera Covent Garden and English National Opera, Bines took up a post as Chorus Master of the Royal Danish Opera in 2007, and then of the celebrated Glyndebourne Festival in 2009. He remains Glyndebourne’s longest-serving Chorus Master, and during his time there was responsible for the chorus’s successes in productions such as Billy Budd, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Saul and Béatrice et Bénédict, consistently winning critical acclaim: “The chorus is the soul of everything that Glyndebourne is and stands for: every year, one can only marvel at the fresh beauty of the sound it produces as well as its resourceful and imaginative acting… Glyndebourne’s chorus is special” (Telegraph, 29 July 2015). A skilled conductor, he also conducted performances of A midsummer night’s dream and La bohème with the London Philharmonic Orchestra in the Glyndebourne Festival.

 

Highlights of Bines’ tenure at the Deutsche Oper Berlin include his highly-praised work on with the chorus on productions of Le Prophète, Das Wunder der Heliane, Oceane, La Sonnambula and, more recently, Britten’s War Requiem in the Philharmonie (“The star of the evening was the chorus” – Berliner Morgenpost, 11 September 2021).

Ehrenmitglied des Chores

Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker

 

Chordirektion

Erster Chordirektor  Jeremy Bines

Stellvertretender Chordirektor  Thomas Richter

Chor-Repetitor  Jamison Livsey

Leiterin des Chorbüros  Stefanie Kötter

Stellvertretende Leiterin des Chorbüros  Nora Schliermann

 

Chorvorstand

Obfrau  Natalie Buck

Stellvertreter  Björn Struck

weiteres Mitglied  Jan Müller

 

Sopran

1. Sopran  Sibylle BennerOlivia BrettNatalie Buck — Sin-Ae Choi — Kristina Clemenz — Carolina Dawabe Valle — Younghee Ko — Stephanie LloydSeong-Hee Park — Rachel Pinevska — Alyson Rosales —  Julie Wyma

2. Sopran  Sonja BisgielValeria Delmé —  Suzanne Fischer — Constance Gärtner — Imke Hout — Barbara Kindermann — Amelie Müller —  Angelika Nolte — Antje Obenaus — Gyumi Park— Andrea Schwarzbach — Yuuki Tamai

Alt

1. Alt  Ekaterina BaevaBirgit Bauer — Nicole Drees — Mirjam Groth — Kristina Griep — Heidrun Häßner — Mahtab Keshavarz — Cordula Messer — Elke Redmann — Maja Siebenschuh — Veronika Verebély — Asahi Wada

2. Alt  Senta Aue — Brigitte Bergmann — Isolde Claassen — Margarita Greiner  — Nicole Hyde — Inga Maleike — Lorena MedinaSeungeun OhIreene Ollino —  Marie Pierre Zanon

 

Tenor

1. Tenor  Ralph Eschrig — Ljudmil GeorgievJohn IrvinJwa-Kyum Kim — Myungwon Kim — Sungjin Kown — Seung Yeop Lee — Hyun Chul RimThaisen RuschMichael SchöneAram Youn

2. Tenor  Haico Apel — Daniel Badura — Ho-Sung Kang — Robert Klöpper — Jan Müller — Robert Neumann — Olli RantaseppäFrank Wentzel — Chunho You

Bass

1. Bass  Heiner Boßmeyer — Oliver Boyd — Kwang-Seok Cho — Mike Fischer — Alexander HoffmannDaesoon KimTadeusz Milewski — Hong-Kyun Oh — Piotr Wawrowski

2. Bass  Holger GerberdingByungwook Go Peter HjulerMarek Picz — Tomasz Rakocz — Rüdiger ScheiblBjörn StruckRené Tischlinger-Turri — Ingo Witzke

 

VdO, Ortsvorstand
Vereinigung deutscher Opernchöre und Bühnentänzer e.V.

Vorsitzender  Björn Struck

Stellvertreterinnen  Natalie Buck — Senta Aue

 

Kinderchor

Leiter  Christian Lindhorst

The Children's and Young People's Choir of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, with around 150 singers, is a strongly integrated ensemble partner of the house. Here the children and young people receive sound musical and vocal training in age-appropriate choral groups with the aim of performing on the opera stage together with the professionals and showing their skills in concerts. In the 2022/23 season, the children's choir can again be seen in many productions, e.g. CARMEN, HÄNSEL UND GRETEL, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA, TURANDOT as well as in the traditional "Spring Singing" in the Tischlerei.

Watch here a video-Feature about our children's chorus

Aside from the opera performances at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, all the choral groups also appear at other venues in Berlin and further afield. Our youngest budding singers in the Mini Chorus focus for example on rehearsing carols in the run-up to Christmas. The Children’s Chorus, the Concert Chorus, the Voice-Changers (our company of young male singers) and the Youth Chorus cover a repertoire stretching from the Renaissance to contemporary music. In July 2018 the Concert Chorus was travel to Tshwane, South Africa, for the World Choir Games.

 

Vocal development: Soloists of our chorus

Tanja Ammon, Senta Aue, Rosemarie Arzt, Natali Buck, Kristina Griep, Nicole Hyde

 

Head of Children’s Chorus

Christian Lindhorst

 

Your contact for questions and registrations

Tino Breitbarth
Stage manager of the Children's Chorus and the Young Chorus
Kontakt: breitbarth@deutscheoperberlin.de

The Children's Chorus is supported by Dobolino e.V. and Engel & Völkers Commercial Berlin.

Enter Onepager
1

slide_title_1

slide_description_1

slide_headline_2
2

slide_title_2

slide_description_2

slide_headline_3
3

slide_title_3

slide_description_3

slide_headline_4
4

slide_title_4

slide_description_4

Create / edit OnePager

Der Chor ist das Herz vieler Opernaufführungen, und das gilt ganz besonders für den Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Als einer der meistbeschäftigten Chöre von Weltrang widmet er sich allabendlich mit großem Engagement einer riesigen Bandbreite an Werken. Gleichermaßen in Neuproduktionen und einem riesigen Repertoire zuhause, singt der Chor jede Spielzeit etwa 35 unterschiedliche Werke, von den großen Wagneropern wie LOHENGRIN und TANNHÄUSER bis zu Uraufführungen wie zum Beispiel Detlev Glanerts OCEANE, jüngst mit dem „International Opera Award“ ausgezeichnet.

Der Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin begeistert sein Publikum, seit 1912 die ersten Aufführungen von FIDELIO zur Eröffnung der Oper erklangen. Als der erste Chordirektor, Hans Leschke, nach wenigen Jahren das Haus verließ, übertrug er die Leitung seinem Assistenten Hermann Lüddecke, dessen Führung bis weit nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg einen stabilisierenden Einfluss hatte. Seine Verbundenheit mit der deutschen Tradition ist in hochgelobten Aufnahmen wie der von Eugen Jochums CARMINA BURANA gut hörbar, die den Weltruf des Chores begründeten. Die zweite Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde von der Arbeit mit dem einflussreichen Walter Hagen-Groll bestimmt, der Lüddeckes stilistischen Ansatz ausbaute, erweiterte und ein beeindruckendes Erbe hinterließ, von dem zahlreiche gefeierte Aufnahmen des Chores zeugen.

Der Zeitenwandel brachte eine internationalere Perspektive mit sich, und der Chor blühte ein weiteres Mal unter der Leitung des US-Amerikaners William Spaulding auf. Während seiner Amtszeit wurde der Chor von der Zeitschrift „Opernwelt“ dreimal hintereinander, von 2008 bis 2010, zum „Chor des Jahres“ gewählt und erhielt begeisterte Kritiken für seine Gastauftritte bei den BBC Proms, wo er in TANNHÄUSER und Verdis „Messa da Requiem“ zu hören war.

Seitdem der gegenwärtige Chordirektor, Jeremy Bines, 2017 von Glyndebourne an die Deutsche Oper Berlin wechselte, beeindruckt der Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin weiterhin das Berliner und internationale Opernpublikum. Die Fachpresse lobte insbesondere epische Werke wie LE PROPHETE und DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE sowie die herausragende Rolle des Chors in Detlev Glanerts OCEANE, auch kann sein Beitrag zur Realisierung des monumentalen Meyerbeer-Zyklus‘, der neben VASCO DA GAMA, LES HUGUENOTS und LE PROPHETE DINORAH (konzertant) auf die Bühne brachte, nicht hoch genug geschätzt werden. Die International Opera Awards 2021 bescherten dem Chor eine Nominierung als „Chor des Jahres“. Seit Beginn der Spielzeit 2021/22 profilierte er sich besonders in Benjamin Brittens „War Requiem“ in der Berliner Philharmonie und in der Neuproduktion der GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG unter Leitung von Generalmusikdirektor Sir Donald Runnicles und in der Regie von Stefan Herheim. – Jeremy Bines

Preisträger des Europäischen Chor-Preises der Stiftung Pro Europa

Die Fachzeitschrift Opernwelt kürte den Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin 2008, 2009 und 2010 zum Opernchor des Jahres

Jeremy Bines ist seit Beginn der Spielzeit 2017/18 als Chordirektor an der Deutschen Oper Berlin tätig. Der in Belfast geborene Dirigent britischer, irischer und deutscher Herkunft studierte an der Universität Cambridge und am National Opera Studio in London. Nachdem er einige Jahre als freiberuflicher Korrepetitor für Ensembles wie die Royal Opera Covent Garden und die English National Opera gearbeitet hatte, übernahm Jeremy Bines 2007 den Posten des Chorleiters an der Königlichen Dänischen Oper und 2009 beim berühmten Glyndebourne Festival. Er ist nach wie vor der dienstälteste Chorus Master in Glyndebourne und war während seiner Zeit dort für die Erfolge des Chors in Produktionen wie BILLY BUDD, DIE MEISTERSINGER VON NÜRNBERG, SAUL und BÉATRICE ET BÉNÉDICT verantwortlich, die von der Kritik durchweg gelobt wurden: „Der Chor ist die Seele von allem, was Glyndebourne ist und wofür es steht: Jedes Jahr kann man nur staunen über die frische Schönheit des Klangs, den er erzeugt, sowie über sein einfallsreiches und phantasievolles Schauspiel... Glyndebournes Chor ist etwas Besonderes“ (Telegraph, 29. Juli 2015). Als erfahrener Dirigent leitete er auch Aufführungen von A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM und LA BOHÈME mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra beim Glyndebourne Festival.

Zu den Höhepunkten von Bines' Wirken an der Deutschen Oper Berlin gehört seine hochgelobte Arbeit mit dem Chor bei Produktionen von LE PROPHÈTE, DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, OCEANE, LA SONNAMBULA und kürzlich Brittens WAR REQUIEM in der Philharmonie („Der Star des Abends war der Chor“ – Berliner Morgenpost, 11. September 2021).

Ehrenmitglied des Chores

Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker

 

Chordirektion

Erster Chordirektor Jeremy Bines

Stellvertretender Chordirektor Thomas Richter

Chor-Repetitor Jamison Livsey

Leiterin des Chorbüros Stefanie Kötter

Stellvertretende Leiterin des Chorbüros Michelle McKenzie

 

Chorvorstand

Obfrau Irene Maas

Zweite Obfrau Natalie Buck

Dritte Obfrau Nicole Hyde

 

Sopran

1. Sopran Rosemarie Arzt — Sibylle Benner — Natalie Buck — Sin-Ae Choi — Kristina Clemenz — Carolina Dawabe Valle — Younghee Ko — Stephanie Lloyd — Irene Maas — Saskia Meusel — Seong-Hee Park — Rachel Pines — Julie Wyma

2. Sopran Sonja Bisgiel — Suzanne Fischer — Constance Gärtner — Imke Hout — Barbara Kindermann — Angelika Nolte — Antje Obenaus — Gyumi Park— Andrea Schwarzbach — Ines Schweizer

 

Alt

1. Alt Birgit Bauer — Nicole Drees — Mirjam Groth — Kristina Häger — Heidrun Häßner — Mahtab Keshavarz — Cordula Messer — Elke Redmann — Maja Siebenschuh — Veronika Verebély — Asahi Wada

2. Alt Senta Aue — Brigitte Bergmann — Isolde Claassen — Margarita Greiner  — Nicole Hyde — Inga Maleike — Lorena MedinaSeungeun OhMarie Pierre Zanon

 

Tenor

1. Tenor Ralph Eschrig — Ulrich George — Ljudmil GeorgievJohn IrvinJwa-Kyum Kim — Myungwon Kim — Sungjin Kown — Seung Yeop Lee — Hyun Chul Rim — Michael Schöne — Aram Youn

2. Tenor Haico Apel — Daniel Badura — Winfried Fußy — Ho-Sung Kang — Robert Klöpper — Jan Müller — Robert Neumann — Olli Rantaseppä — Frank Wentzel

 

Bass

1. Bass Murat Acikada — Oliver Boyd — Heiner Boßmeyer — Kwang-Seok Cho — Mike Fischer — Alexander Hoffmann — Tadeusz Milewski — Hong-Kyun Oh — Piotr Wawrowski

2. Bass Holger Gerberding — Peter Hjuler — Yohan Kim — Marek Picz — Tomasz Rakocz — Rüdiger Scheibl — Björn Struck — René Tischlinger-Turri — Ingo Witzke

 

VdO, Ortsvorstand
Vereinigung deutscher Opernchöre und Bühnentänzer e.V.

Vorsitzender Björn Struck

Stellvertreterinnen Natalie Buck — Senta Aue

 

Kinderchor

Leiter Christian Lindhorst

Der Kinder- und Jugendchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin ist mit seinen rund 150 Sänger*innen ein stark eingebundener Ensemblepartner des Hauses. Hier erhalten die Kinder und Jugendlichen eine fundierte musikalische und stimmliche Ausbildung in altersgerechten Chorgruppen mit dem Ziel, gemeinsam mit den Profis auf der Opernbühne zu stehen und in Konzerten ihr Können zu zeigen. Auch in der Spielzeit 2022/23 ist der Kinderchor wieder in vielen Produktionen zu erleben, z.B. in CARMEN, HÄNSEL UND GRETEL, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA, TURANDOT und im traditionellen „Frühlingssingen“ in der Tischlerei.

Sehen Sie hier ein Video-Feature über unseren Kinderchor

Neben den Opernvorstellungen an der Deutschen Oper werden alle Chorgruppen auch an anderen Orten Berlins und darüber hinaus zu erleben sein. Unser sängerischer Nachwuchs im Kleinen Chor (Leitung: Rosemarie Arzt) bereitet sich z.B. auf das Frühlingssingen vor. Der Große Chor, der Konzertchor, die Voice Changer (Gruppe junger Männerstimmen) und der Jugendchor spannen in ihren Konzerten einen musikalischen Bogen von der Renaissance bis zur zeitgenössischen Musik. Im Juli 2018 war der Konzertchor zu den World Choir Games nach Tshwane in Südafrika eingeladen.

 

Stimmbildnerinnen aus den Reihen des Chores

Tanja Ammon, Senta Aue, Rosemarie Arzt, Natali Buck, Kristina Häger, Nicole Hyde

 

Leitung

Christian Lindhorst 

 

Ihr Ansprechpartner für Fragen und Anmeldungen

Tino Breitbarth
Inspizient des Kinderchores und des Jungen Chores
Kontakt: breitbarth@deutscheoperberlin.de

Der Kinderchor wird gefördert durch Dobolino e.V.  und Engel & Völkers Commercial Berlin

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter