Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
The Orchestra:
Go to:

Eventful times

The story begins with a minor cultural revolution. Over a hundred years ago the founders of the Deutsche Oper Berlin agitated for the establishment of an institution providing innovative musical theatre for the middle classes. The decades that followed were marked by glorious highs and devastating lows and saw international triumphs, gramophone recordings, war and destruction and then a bold new building in the same year that the Wall went up. What all the generations have in common is a love of music.

1912 – Charlottenburger burghers build their own opera house

In the run-up to the First World War there are stirrings of unrest amongst Berlin’s opera fans. The Unter den Linden opera house, then called the Hofoper (Court Opera), is seen as one of the fossilised settings for imperial representation. Many music lovers are hankering for progressive, more unconventional productions. Intellectuals and affluent citizens get together in Charlottenburg, then a town in its own right, and found the Deutsches Opernhaus. Within a year the Berlin authorities have erected a building - on a spot that in 1961 will serve as footprint for the reincarnated Deutsche Oper Berlin. The original building is the one of the largest in the world at the time, admitting up to 2,300 people.

Expectations are high. The recruitment bureau of the Deutscher Musikerverband is charged with the task of selecting 75 musicians from the 1,000 applying for a position in the orchestra. On 7th November 1912 Principal Conductor Ignatz Waghalter opens the Deutsches Opernhaus with a performance of FIDELIO. A brilliant violinist and pianist, Waghalter is an adherent of Giacomo Puccini, whose works are experiencing a slump among German audiences. Waghalter changes that, teaming up with the composer himself to rehearse THE GIRL OF THE GOLDEN WEST, which receives its German premiere to great acclaim. Other areas of focus for the new opera house are works by Richard Strauss, another living composer, and the musical dramas of Richard Wagner.

Chamber music – 13 January 2020

Against forgetfulness

A memorial concert for Wladislaw Waghalter, Max Rosenthal, Werner Lywen and Hans Kraus with Works by Ludwig van Beethoven, Ignatz Waghalter, Mary Howe, Leoš Janácek et al.

 

Programme and Interprets

Chamber music Matinée © 2009

1919 to 1948 – First disc recordings, international fame, destruction

In the aftermath of the First World War the orchestra members begin to press for a new start and launch their Sunday matinée “Folk Symphony Concerts in the Deutsches Opernhaus in Charlottenburg”. They also pay for the construction of a wooden bandshell, which improves the acoustics. In 1920 Charlottenburg is incorporated into Greater Berlin, the enlarged Imperial capital, and the opera house changes its name to Städtische Oper. Waghalter works with Kapellmeister Eduard Mörike to make the opera’s first gramophone recordings. Conductors of the likes of Bruno Walter, Paul Dessau, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Leo Blech and Fritz Busch are hired. At the end of the 1920s Berlin is known far and wide for its three opera houses: the Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Komische Oper and Städtische Oper.

In 1934, during the administration of General Music Director Artur Rother, Karl Böhm appears as guest conductor at the Charlottenburger Oper for the first time, marking the start of a fifty-year relationship with the house. His signature performances of Mozart’s operas have influenced generations of composers.

In 1943 the Deutsches Opernhaus succumbs to aerial bombardment. In the autumn of 1945 the orchestra decamps to the Theater des Westens, which still occupies its original site at Bahnhof Zoo. In 1948 the orchestra and Ferenc Fricsay can be found rehearsing Verdi’s DON CARLOS. The new General Director Fricsay is not only a popular figure among the orchestra members; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, too, considers DON CARLOS a break from the past: Fischer-Dieskau’s international career begins with his turn as the Marquis de Posa.

1961 to 1980 – New start in a divided city, star conductors and death in the pit

1961 sees completion of the new opera house with its much talked-about concrete facade at Bismarckstraße 34-37. The orchestra returns to the original site and to a house now offering seating for 1,865 people. On 24th September, a few weeks after the building of the Berlin Wall, it takes part in the first opera performance, Mozart’s DON GIOVANNI.

And as the Staatsoper Unter den Linden and Komische Oper are now located in the eastern part of the city, the Charlottenburg institution finds itself in the role of figurehead opera stage for the State of Berlin. A change of name to ‘Deutsche Oper Berlin’ is not long in coming.

The arrival of General Music Director Lorin Maazel in 1965 represents a new shot in the arm for the opera house. As guest conductors, Karl Böhm, Heinrich Hollreiser and Eugen Jochum deepen their involvement with the Deutsche Oper Berlin. They join the likes of Herbert von Karajan, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Peter Schneider, Horst Stein and Erich Leinsdorf in leaving their imprint on the Bismarckstraße institution.

 

Next to head the orchestra is Giuseppe Sinopoli, who goes down a storm amongst the musicians with his version of Verdi’s MACBETH in 1980. Sinopoli is a wizard of sound, able to conjure extraordinary tension from tiny nuances. The musicians like him and the chemistry is positive from the start, as evinced in the CD recordings of MACBETH, SALOME and THE FLYING DUTCHMAN. Tragic that his life had to end far too early on 20 April 2001, during an AIDA performance in the orchestra pit of the Deutsche Oper Berlin after a heart attack.

1981 to 2004 – Götz Friedrich’s RING, the revival of symphony concerts and Thielemann as world-class conductor

The years between 1981 and 2000 belong largely to Prof. Götz Friedrich. As Artistic Director and Director of Music he is behind a number of memorable productions, first and foremost the RING OF THE NIBELUNG. In 1990 Friedrich’s contractual negotiations with the popular Giuseppe Sinopoli break down and the orchestra selects as its Principal Conductor Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, a conductor known for his concert work, who holds the post of General Music Director from 1992 to 1997.

 

It is Frühbeck de Burgos who leads the musicians in nurturing the symphony-concert tradition. In the 1990s the orchestra performs six symphony concerts as a guest of the Konzerthaus Berlin and the Berliner Philharmonie. During his administration a string of guest conductors are brought in to enhance and uphold the quality of the orchestra. They include Marcello Viotti, Alberto Zedda, Lothar Zagrosek, Stefan Soltesz, Jiri Belohlavek, Lawrence Foster and Christof Prick, who also spent a number of years at the Deutsche Oper Berlin as State Kapellmeister. Horst Stein conducts a triumphant RING.

1992 is the year of a remarkable debut, with Berlin conductor Christian Thielemann delivering a first-time production of LOHENGRIN, memories of which lingered on, with the musicians rooting for him as their head.

 

From 1997 to 2004 Thielemann is General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and artistic director of symphony concerts. With him at the stand the orchestra turns out world-class opera and concert performances, with Thielemann’s interpretations of Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss garnering special praise, the same two composers whose works – doubtless no coincidence - had delighted audiences at the newly founded Charlottenburger Oper almost a century earlier. Opera fans converge on the Deutsche Oper Berlin from around the globe to witness performances conducted by Thielemann. In 2004 he resigns in protest at the unequal treatment of the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin compared to conditions prevailing at the Staatskapelle Berlin.

2004 onwards – The RING, enthusiastic musicians and the conjuring of Donald Runnicles

2018, Simon Pauly

Kirsten Harms, Artistic Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin from 2004 to 2010/2011, starts off by hiring the Italian conductor Renato Palumbo as General Music Director. During his incumbency the orchestra works closely with Andris Nelsons, Enrique Mazzola, Yves Abel, Jacques Lacombe and Ulf Schirmer, triumphing on many an occasion. In 2007, in a revival of Götz Friedrich’s legendary production of the RING, the orchestra and Donald Runnicles meet for the first time – a positive experience for musicians, audiences and critics alike.

Runnicles appears to be able to coax magic from the musicians. He brings a wealth of experience to the job and has triumphed at the world’s leading opera houses. He built an international reputation for the San Francisco Opera, tackling a wide range of works as Principal Conductor. In 2009 he was appointed General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin at the behest of the orchestra. The core repertory works remain the operas of Wagner and Strauss, with Runnicles and the orchestra aiming to explore new approaches to the works of Debussy, Britten and Berlioz. Runnicles’s continuity, his meticulousness in rehearsals and performances and an ability to inspire “his” orchestra to feats of musical nuance and colour are the audiences’ guarantee that the superb quality of the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin is set to continue and even improve.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
Das Orchester:
Gehe zu:

Bewegte Zeiten

Das Städtische Opernhaus

Es beginnt mit einer kleinen Kulturrevolution. Vor über hundert Jahren kämpfen die Gründer der Deutschen Oper Berlin für ein innovatives, bürgerliches Musiktheater. Es folgten glorreiche Hochs und niederschmetternde Tiefs. Internationale Erfolge, Schallplattenaufnahmen, Krieg und Zerstörung, ein Aufsehen erregender Neubau, zugleich die Teilung der Stadt. Was alle Generationen eint, ist die Liebe zur Musik.

1912 – Charlottenburger Bürger gründen ihre eigene Oper

Das Bankett nach der Aufführung der „Fanciulla“ mit Waghalter und Puccini

In den Jahren vor dem ersten Weltkrieg regt sich Unmut unter Berliner Opernfans. Die Hofoper Unter den Linden gilt als erstarrte Repräsentationsbühne des Kaisers. Viele Musikliebhaber wünschen sich fortschrittliche, unkonventionellere Inszenierungen. In Charlottenburg, damals eine eigenständige Stadt, tun sich Intellektuelle und wohlhabende Bürger zusammen und gründen das Deutsche Opernhaus. Innerhalb eines Jahres lässt der Magistrat ein Gebäude errichten, an derselben Stelle, wo sich seit 1961 der Neubau der Deutschen Oper Berlin befindet. Mit 2300 Plätzen ist das damalige Musiktheater eines der größten der Welt.

Die Erwartungen an das neue Haus sind riesig. 1000 Musiker bewerben sich auf 75 Stellen im Orchester. Das Stellenvermittlungsbüro des Deutschen Musikerverbandes wählt die besten aus. Am 7. November 1912 eröffnet Chefdirigent Ignatz Waghalter das Deutsche Opernhaus mit einer Aufführung von FIDELIO. Waghalter, ein virtuoser Geiger und Pianist, ist ein Fan von Giacomo Puccini, dessen Opern zu dieser Zeit in Deutschland keinen Erfolg haben. Das ändert Waghalter: Gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten studiert er Puccinis Oper DAS MÄDCHEN AUS DEM GOLDENEN WESTEN ein und führt sie erstmals in Deutschland auf – mit großem Erfolg. Werke von Richard Strauss, auch er ein zeitgenössischer Komponist, bilden einen weiteren Schwerpunkt des neuen Repertoires, ebenso die Musikdramen von Richard Wagner.

Tischlereikonzert – 13. Januar 2020

Wider das Vergessen

Erinnerung in Wort und Musik an vier ehemaliger Mitglieder des Orchesters des Deutschen Opernhauses, die unter der nationalsozialistischen Schreckensherrschaft vertrieben oder ermordet wurden: An Wladislaw Waghalter, Max Rosenthal, Werner Lywen und Hans Kraus. Mit werken von Ludwig van Beethoven, Ignatz Waghalter, Mary Howe, Leos Janácek u. a.

Zu Programm und Besetzung

Kammerkonzert © 2009

1919 bis 1948 – Erste Schallplattenaufnahmen, Weltruf und Zerstörung

Das zerstörte Opernhaus

Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg starten Mitglieder des Orchesters die Initiative für einen Neubeginn: An Sonntagvormittagen führen sie die „Volkstümlichen Sinfoniekonzerte im Deutschen Opernhause zu Charlottenburg“ auf. Auf eigene Kosten beschaffen sie so eine hölzerne Konzertmuschel, die die Bühnenakustik verbessert. 1920 wird Charlottenburg in die Reichshauptstadt Groß-Berlin eingemeindet und der Name des Hauses wird geändert: Städtische Oper. Mit Kapellmeister Eduard Mörike nimmt Waghalter erste Schallplatten auf. Künstler wie Bruno Walter, Paul Dessau, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Leo Blech und Fritz Busch dirigieren das Orchester. Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Komische Oper und Städtische Oper: Ende der 20er Jahre genießt die Opernlandschaft in Berlin mit ihren drei Häusern Weltruf.

1934, in der Amtszeit des Generalmusikdirektors Artur Rother, gastiert Karl Böhm zum ersten Mal in der Charlottenburger Oper. Über fünf Jahrzehnte wird er ihr verbunden bleiben. Besonders den Opern Mozarts hat Böhm eine eigene musikalische Handschrift verliehen. Generationen von Dirigenten haben sich daran orientiert.

1943 wird das Deutsche Opernhaus bei einem Bombenangriff zerstört. Wenige Monate nach Kriegsende, im Herbst 1945, zieht das Orchester ins noch heute bestehende Theater des Westens am Bahnhof Zoo. 1948 studiert es mit Ferenc Fricsay DON CARLOS von Verdi ein. Nicht nur die Musiker sind von dem neuen Generaldirektor Fricsay begeistert – auch für Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau bedeutet CARLOS eine Zäsur: In der Rolle des Marquis Posa startet er seine Weltkarriere.

1961 bis 1980 – Neubeginn in der geteilten Stadt, Stardirigenten und Tod im Orchestergraben

Giuseppe Sinopoli

1961 ist der Neubau mit der Aufsehen erregenden Betonfassade in der Bismarckstraße 34-37 fertig. Das Orchester kehrt zurück an den alten Ort mit neuen 1865 Plätzen. Wenige Wochen nach dem Berliner Mauerbau, am 24. September 1961, führen sie die erste Oper auf, Mozarts DON GIOVANNI. Weil sich Staatsoper Unter den Linden und Komische Oper im Ostteil der Stadt befinden, übernimmt das Charlottenburger Haus plötzlich und ungeplant die Rolle der Repräsentationsbühne des Landes Berlin. Es wird erneut unbenannt, in Deutsche Oper Berlin.

Ab 1965 gibt Generalmusikdirektor Lorin Maazel dem Orchester entscheidende Impulse. Karl Böhm, Heinrich Hollreiser und Eugen Jochum verstärken als Gastdirigenten ihr Engagement an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Zusammen mit berühmten Dirigenten wie Herbert von Karajan, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Peter Schneider, Horst Stein oder Erich Leinsdorf prägen sie das Haus an der Bismarckstraße.

 

Dann tritt Giuseppe Sinopoli vor das Orchester. Als er 1980 Verdis MACBETH einstudiert, gewinnt er die Herzen der Musiker im Sturm. Sinipoli ist ein Klangmagier, schon durch kleine Nuancen erzeugt er große Spannung. Die Musiker mögen ihn, die Chemie zwischen Chef und Orchester stimmt von Anfang an. Maßstäbe setzende CD-Aufnahmen (MACBETH, SALOME, DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER) sind immer noch Zeugnisse dieser besonderen Zusammenarbeit. Tragisch, dass sein Leben am 20. April 2001, während einer AIDA-Vorstellung, im Orchestergraben der Deutschen Oper Berlin nach einem Herzinfarkt viel zu früh enden musste.

1981 bis 2004 – Der RING des Götz Friedrich, die Renaissance der Sinfoniekonzerte und Thielemanns Weltklasse

Christian Thielemann

Die Jahre 1981 bis 2000 werden vor allem geprägt von Prof. Götz Friedrich. Als Generalintendant und Chefregisseur entwickelt er unvergleichliche Inszenierungen, vor allem die des RING DES NIBELUNGEN. 1990 scheitern Friedrichs Vertragsverhandlungen mit dem beliebten Giuseppe Sinopoli. Das Orchester wählt Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos zu seinem Chef. Dieser besonders im Konzertbereich versierte Dirigent wird das Orchester von 1992 bis 1997 als Generalmusikdirektor leiten.

 

Frühbeck de Burgos ist es, der gemeinsam mit den Musikern die Tradition der Sinfoniekonzerte wiederaufleben lässt. In den 1990er Jahren musiziert das Orchester sechs Sinfoniekonzerte als Gast im Konzerthaus Berlin und in der Berliner Philharmonie. In diesen Jahren sichern Gastdirigenten wie Marcello Viotti, Alberto Zedda, Lothar Zagrosek, Stefan Soltesz, Jiri Belohlavek und Christof Prick, der einige Jahre auch Staatskapellmeister am Hause war, sowie Lawrence Foster die musikalische Qualität des Orchesters. Horst Stein dirigiert einen triumphalen RING.

Ein bemerkenswertes Debüt findet 1992 statt: Erstmals leitet der Berliner Dirigent Christian Thielemann einen in der Rückschau fulminanten LOHENGRIN. Die Musiker wünschen sich ihn zum Chef.

 

Von 1997 bis 2004 ist Thielemann Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin und Künstlerischer Leiter der Sinfoniekonzerte. Ihm verdankt das Orchester Opern- und Konzertabende von Weltklasseformat, vor allem durch seine Interpretationen der Werke von Richard Wagner und Richard Strauss. Mit diesen Komponisten hat sich bereits knapp hundert Jahre zuvor die neugegründete Charlottenburger Oper in die Gunst der Zuschauer gespielt – sicher kein Zufall. Aus der ganzen Welt reisen Opernfans an, um Thielemanns Aufführungen zu erleben. 2004 gibt er sein Amt auf – die finanzielle Ungleichbehandlung des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin im Vergleich zur Staatskapelle Berlin will er nicht länger mittragen.

2004 bis heute – Der RING, begeisterte Musiker und ein zaubernder Donald Runnicles

Donald Runnicles © 2018, Simon Pauly

Kirsten Harms, von 2004 bis 2010/2011 Intendantin der Deutschen Oper Berlin, engagiert zunächst den italienischen Dirigenten Renato Palumbo als Generalmusikdirektor. In dieser Zeit arbeitet das Orchester außerdem intensiv mit Andris Nelsons, Enrique Mazzola, Yves Abel, Jacques Lacombe und Ulf Schirmer und feiert mit ihnen große Erfolge. 2007 erklingt der RING in der legendären Inszenierung von Götz Friedrich. Das Orchesters begegnet dabei erstmals Donald Runnicles. Sowohl die Musiker, als auch Publikum und Kritik sind begeistert.

Runnicles scheint musikalisch zaubern zu können. Er verfügt über enorme Erfahrung und hat Erfolge an führenden Opernhäusern der Welt gesammelt. Die San Francisco Opera hat er als Chefdirigent mit einem vielschichtigen Repertoire zu Weltruhm geführt. 2009 wird er auf Wunsch des Orchesters zum Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin ernannt. Das Kernrepertoire mit Opern von Wagner und Strauss bleibt bestehen. Daneben wird Runnicles mit dem Orchester eine musikalische Neudeutungen der Werke von Debussy, Britten und Berlioz erarbeiten. Runnicles Kontinuität, seine Präzision in Proben und Aufführungen sowie die Fähigkeit, »sein« Orchester zu Farbenreichtum und Klangdifferenzierung zu inspirieren, sind der Garant dafür, dass die herausragende Qualität des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin auch in Zukunft erhalten bleibt und sich weiter entwickeln wird.