The Kammerorchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin is a classical string orchestra formation with harpsichord. Depending on the repertoire, it is expanded to include individual wind instruments. The core repertoire covers the entire range from the Baroque to the Classical period, performed in a historically informed manner. The ensemble also performs works from the late 19th and 20th centuries to contemporary music. The composition of the musicians varies – a special focus is on presenting outstanding soloists from the large ensemble of instrumentalists and singers of the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

It is founded and directed by Daniel Draganov and Selim Aykal. General Music Director Sir Donald Runnicles supports the ensemble, which has been making successful music at home and abroad from the very beginning. In spring 2018, it performed a baroque opera by Pergolesi in Bangkok at the invitation of Opera Siam, with the support of the German Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut. This was followed by the third concert tour to Istanbul, which included works by Bach, Vivali and Dall'Abacco.

For the 21/22 season, in addition to concerts in Berlin, concerts are again planned in Europe and Asia.


Contact: Daniel Draganov

The dedication of the Kammerensemble Classic der Deutschen Oper Berlin belongs to unknown and forgotten works of the early classical, classical and romantic periods. It was founded in 1992 by musicians from the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. The core instrumentation of flute, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, violin, viola, violoncello and piano is expanded to include double bass, horn, harp and trumpet, depending on the programme. Thanks to bassoonist Helge Bartholomäus' passion for discovering music in libraries around the world, the repertoire has grown visibly. Two sextets by Domenico Cimarosa that were thought to be lost and a sextet by Gustav Holst were rediscovered and performed.

In addition to regular appearances at festivals throughout Germany and at embassies of various countries in Berlin, concert tours to Austria (Vienna), Spain (Ibiza, Madrid and Festival International de música Almansa), Russia (Bernstein Festival in Kaliningrad and Baltisk), Lithuania (Nidda) and Italy (Festival Ecco Bajardo) have attracted great attention. Critics praise "the mature playing, the sound and the fancy programming". These include fantasies, reminiscences and paraphrases of the classics of opera literature as rare arrangements from the 19th century, found in Italian libraries. 

The ensemble works with internationally renowned soloists such as Ofelia Sala, Fionnuala McCarthy, Adriane Queiroz, Raquela Sheeran, Jacquelyn Wagner, Martina Welschenbach, Patricia Freres, Johan Reuter, Wookyung Kim and Kammersänger Markus Brück. Concerts at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin, the Gemäldegalerie in Dresden and the Orangerie of Neustrelitz Castle were broadcast live or recorded by Deutschland Radio Kultur and Radio3 Kultur (rbb). In summer 2001, the first CD with new works by Scandinavian composers was produced. In the CD series Klang der Welt - Russia, Spain, Brazil (on the NCA label) - further recordings have appeared which have received excellent reviews. Two recordings of arias and overtures from romantic operas, Rare Verdi (Grammy Award nomination) and Three Poets, have been released by MSM in London. In 2010, a premiere recording of works by Sigismund Ritter von Neukomm was co-produced by Deutschland Radio Kultur and CPO.


Members of the "Kammerensemble Classic"

Elisabeth Heise-Glass (violin), Keiko Kido-Lerch (violin), Chié Peters (violin), Youngdo Kim (Viola), Claudio Corbach (cello), Christoph Niemann (double bass), Jochen Hoffmann (flute), Holger Burke (oboe), Matthias Höfele (clarinet), Paul-Gregor Straka (bassoon) und Tatjana Blome (piano)

The American magazine "All About Jazz" writes about the BigBand der Deutschen Oper Berlin: "Germany, which supports the performing arts to a degree far beyond what is practised here in the United States, has produced a number of world-class big bands as a result of this support. This is one of them."

The actual birth of the BigBand is considered to be a benefit concert in 2005 with the 12 brass players and one percussionist of the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. In the beginning, the baritone saxophonist Rolf von Nordenskjöld led the band. In the meantime, jazz trombonist, composer and arranger Manfred Honetschläger provides the right sound. Stars like Katharine Mehrling, Madeline Bell, Lyambiko, Jocelyn B. Smith, Pe Werner, Bill Ramsey, Georgie Fame, Jiggs Whigham, Jeff Cascaro and Richard Galliano have already been guests. In collaboration with General Music Director Donald Runnicles, a crossover concert took place in 2011, as well as the world premiere of the jazz melodrama "Die Verführung des Pentheus" by Manfred Honetschläger in 2016 on the big stage of the Deutsche Oper Berlin with the orchestra and the BigBand der Deutschen Oper Berlin, also under the direction of GMD Donald Runnicles and together with actor Ben Becker.

Other highlights were a concert with Paul Kuhn in June 2012, which was the last time he performed with a big band. Also worth mentioning is the concert on the occasion of the Brandenburgischen Sommerkonzerte 2014 at the BER Airport Berlin-Brandenburg, which was not opened, with over 2000 visitors. The BigBand celebrated its tenth anniversary in March 2016 with a brilliant concert in front of a sold-out audience with soloists Torsten Goods, Polly Gibbons and trumpeter Till Brönner. In April 2018, the BigBand der Deutschen Oper Berlin was invited to Warsaw for a three-day guest performance, which included two concerts together with the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra.

Three CDs have been released on monsrecords so far: The CD "Premiere", released in 2008, was made together with Bill Ramsey, a second was released in 2010 under the title "How long is now?" together with Pascal von Wroblewsky. The third CD, "A Soul Journey", is a concert recording by RBB from February 2018 with soloists, choir and big band, in which Christian "The Voice" Brückner leads us through the history of soul.

Just take a listen ... The sound of the BigBand

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Das Kammerorchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin ist eine klassische Streichorchesterformation mit Cembalo. Je nach Repertoire wird es um einzelne Bläser erweitert. Das Kernrepertoire umfasst die gesamte Bandbreite des Barock bis zur Klassik, die in historisch informierter Weise erklingt. Auch Werke des späten 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts bis zur Musik der Gegenwart führt das Ensemble auf. Die Zusammensetzung der Musiker*innen variiert – ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Präsentation herausragender Solist*innen aus dem großen Ensemble der Instrumentalist*innen und Sänger*innen der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

Gegründet und geleitet wird es von Daniel Draganov und Selim Aykal. Generalmusikdirektor Sir Donald Runnicles unterstützt das Ensemble, das von Beginn an im In- und Ausland erfolgreich musiziert. Im Frühjahr 2018 hat es in Bangkok auf Einladung der Opera Siam, mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes und des Goethe-Instituts, eine Barockoper von Pergolesi aufgeführt. Anschließend stand die bereits dritte Konzertreise nach Istanbul an, bei der Werke von Bach, Vivali und Dall´Abacco erklangen.

Für die Spielzeit 21/22 sind, neben Konzerten in Berlin, auch wieder Konzerte in Europa und Asien in Planung.

 

Kontakt: Daniel Draganov

Die Hingabe des Kammerensemble Classic der Deutschen Oper Berlin gehört unbekannten und vergessenen Werken der Frühklassik, Klassik und Romantik. 1992 wurde es von Musikern des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin gegründet. Die Stammbesetzung mit Flöte, Klarinette, Oboe, Fagott, Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier wird je nach Programm um Kontrabass, Horn, Harfe und Trompete erweitert. Dank der ausgeprägten Leidenschaft des Fagottisten Helge Bartholomäus, weltweit in Bibliotheken auf Entdeckungsjagd zu gehen, vergrößerte sich das Repertoire zusehends. So wurden zwei als verschollen geglaubte Sextette von Domenico Cimarosa und ein Sextett von Gustav Holst wiederentdeckt und aufgeführt.

Neben regelmäßigen Auftritten bei Festivals in ganz Deutschland und in Botschaften verschiedener Länder in Berlin fanden Konzertreisen nach Österreich (Wien), Spanien (Ibiza, Madrid und Festival International de música Almansa), Russland (Bernsteinfestival in Kaliningrad und Baltisk), Litauen (Nidda) und Italien (Festival Ecco Bajardo) große Beachtung. Die Kritik lobt „das ausgereifte Spiel, den Klang und die ausgefallene Programmgestaltung“. Dazu gehören Fantasien, Reminiszenzen und Paraphrasen der Klassiker der Opernliteratur als rare Bearbeitungen aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, gefunden in italienischen Bibliotheken. 

Das Ensemble arbeitet mit international renommierten Solisten wie Ofelia Sala, Fionnuala McCarthy, Adriane Queiroz, Raquela Sheeran, Jacquelyn Wagner, Martina Welschenbach, Patricia Freres, Johan Reuter, Wookyung Kim und Kammersänger Markus Brück zusammen. Konzerte in der Deutschen Oper Berlin, im Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin, in der Gemäldegalerie in Dresden und in der Orangerie des Schlosses Neustrelitz wurden live vom Deutschland Radio Kultur und Radio3 Kultur (rbb) übertragen oder aufgezeichnet. Im Sommer 2001 entstand die erste CD mit neuen Werken skandinavischer Komponisten. In der CD-Reihe Klang der Welt – Russland, Spanien, Brasilien (beim Label NCA) – sind weitere, hervorragend besprochene Einspielungen erschienen. Zwei Aufnahmen mit Arien und Ouvertüren aus romantischen Opern, Rare Verdi (Grammy Award Nominierung) und Drei Dichter, sind bei MSM in London veröffentlicht worden. 2010 fand eine Ersteinspielung mit Werken von Sigismund Ritter von Neukomm als Co-Produktion von Deutschland Radio Kultur und CPO statt.

Mitglieder des „Kammerensemble Classic“

Elisabeth Heise-Glass (Violine), Keiko Kido-Lerch (Violine), Chié Peters (Violine), Youngdo Kim (Viola), Claudio Corbach (Violoncello), Christoph Niemann (Kontrabass), Jochen Hoffmann (Flöte), Holger Burke (Oboe), Matthias Höfele (Klarinette), Paul-Gregor Straka (Fagott) und Tatjana Blome (Klavier)

Das amerikanische Magazin „All About Jazz“ schreibt über die BigBand der Deutschen Oper Berlin: „Deutschland, das die darstellenden Künste in einem Maße unterstützt, das weit über dem liegt, was hier in den Vereinigten Staaten praktiziert wird, hat im Ergebnis dieser Förderung eine Anzahl von Weltklasse-Bigbands hervorgebracht. Das ist eine von ihnen.“

Als eigentliche Geburtsstunde der BigBand gilt ein Benefizkonzert im Jahre 2005 mit den 12 Blechbläsern und einem Schlagzeuger des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper. Anfangs leitete der Baritonsaxofonist Rolf von Nordenskjöld die Band. Inzwischen sorgt der Jazzposaunist, Komponist und Arrangeur Manfred Honetschläger für den richtigen Sound. Stars wie Katharine Mehrling, Madeline Bell, Lyambiko, Jocelyn B. Smith, Pe Werner, Bill Ramsey, Georgie Fame, Jiggs Whigham, Jeff Cascaro und Richard Galliano waren bereits Gäste. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Generalmusikdirektor Donald Runnicles fand 2011 ein Crossover-Konzert, sowie 2016 die Uraufführung des Jazzmelodrams „Die Verführung des Pentheus“ von Manfred Honetschläger auf der großen Bühne der Deutschen Oper mit dem Orchester und der BigBand der Deutschen Oper Berlin statt, ebenso unter der Leitung des GMD Donald Runnicles und zusammen mit dem Schauspieler Ben Becker.

Weitere Höhepunkte waren ein Konzert mit Paul Kuhn im Juni 2012, der dabei zum letzten Mal mit einer Bigband auftrat. Erwähnenswert ist auch das Konzert anlässlich der Brandenburgischen Sommerkonzerte 2014 am nicht eröffneten BER-Flughafen Berlin-Brandenburg mit über 2000 Besuchern. Ihr zehnjähriges Jubiläum feierte die BigBand im März 2016 mit einem fulminanten Konzert vor ausverkauftem Haus mit den Solisten Torsten Goods, Polly Gibbons und dem Trompeter Till Brönner, im April 2018 war die BigBand der Deutschen Oper Berlin zu einem dreitägigen Gastspiel nach Warschau eingeladen, in dessen Rahmen zwei Konzerte zusammen mit den Warschauer Philharmonikern stattfanden.

Drei CDs sind bisher bei monsrecords erschienen: Die 2008 erschienene CD „Premiere“ entstand zusammen mit Bill Ramsey, eine zweite erschien 2010 unter dem Titel „How long is now?“ zusammen mit Pascal von Wroblewsky. Die dritte CD „A Soul Journey“ ist ein Konzert-Mitschnitt des RBB vom Februar 2018 mit Solisten, Chor und BigBand, in der Christian „The Voice“ Brückner durch die Geschichte des Soul führt.

Hören Sie doch einfach mal rein ... In den Sound der BigBand

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter