Welcome

Dear Opera Lovers,

The first thing I would like to do is simply thank you. You stood by us during this time, and the enthusiasm you showed for our performances has confirmed that experiencing culture in times like these is perhaps even more important than normal. Opera and theatre not only give us precious hours to forget our everyday worries, they also offer us a chance to explore the meaning of our life, the fragility of our notions of happiness and our longing for a better world. The diverse new productions we offer you this season reflect this. Bach’s Saint Matthew Passion, Beethoven’s FIDELIO and Verdi’s SIMON BOCCANEGRA are confessional works, each in its own way. And just as Richard Strauss’ ARABELLA questioned one hundred years ago how we should live in a world which has lost its moral compass, today the composer Giorgio Battistelli asks how social change is possible in IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI. Good musical theatre must ask questions. Every viewer, however, must find their own answers, for an evening at the opera leaves each of us with different feelings and thoughts.
read more

Artificial Intelligence and a Real Feeling

With the help of artificial intelligence, the Deutsche Oper translates the transformative power of opera into a novel visual world. The campaign designed by Stan Hema takes viewers on journeys into their own experiences, asking questions of our time.
Read about our seasonal campaign
First premieres and highlights of the 22/23 season
The 22/23 premieres in our calendar
Premiere on 25 November 2022

Fidelio

Opera in two acts by Ludwig van Beethoven; Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; Director: David Hermann; With Thomas Lehman, Markus Brück, Robert Watson, Ingela Brimberg, Tobias Kehrer et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets
Premiere on 29 January 2023

Simon Boccanegra

Opera in a prelude and three acts by Giuseppe Verdi; Conductor: Jader Bignamini; Director: Vasily Barkhatov; With George Petean, Attilio Glaser, Liang Li, Angel Blue, Michael Bakhtadze et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets
Premiere on 18 March 2023

Arabella

Lyrical comedy in three acts by Richard Strauss; Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; Director: Tobias Kratzer; With Albert Pesendorfer, Doris Soffel, Rachel Willis-Sørensen, Elena Tsallagova, Russel Braun, Robert Watson et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets
Premiere on 5 May 2023

Matthäus-Passion / St Matthew's Passion

Music by Johann Sebastian Bach; Conductor: Alessandro De Marchi; Director: Benedikt von Peter; With Sebastian Kohlhepp, Padraic Rowan, Joel Allison, Michael Bachtadze, Dean Murphy, Elbenita Kajtazi, Annika Schlicht et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets
Premiere on 19 May 2023

Francesca da Rimini

Tragedia in four acts by Riccardo Zandonai; Conductor: Ivan Repusic; Director: Christof Loy; With Sara Jakubiak, Ivan Inverardi, Jonathan Tetelman, Charles Workman et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets
World Premiere on 9 June 2023

Il Teorema di Pasolini

Opera by Giorgio Battistelli; libretto by Giorgio Battistelli, freely adapted from the film of the same title by Pier Paolo Pasolini; musical direction: Daniel Cohen; staging: Dead Centre; With Barbara Frittoli, Davide Damiani, Monica Bacelli, Samuel Dale Johnson, Meechot Marrero, Andrei Danilov et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets
Premiere on 15 June

Hérodiade [concert version]

Opera in four acts by Jules Massenet; Conductor: Enrique Mazzola; With Etienne Dupuis, Clémentine Margaine, Nicole Car, Matthew Polenzani, Marko Mimica et al.
To the performances
Buy tickets

Our season book is out now

Discover which works are new in our repertoire: as staged new productions on the big stage, as concert performances or in our second venue Tischlerei, plus 29 repertoire works from Mozart to Langgaard, concerts, recitals and jazz. In addition, portraits, essays and much more.
PDF-Download
Kostenfrei bestellen

Cheaper to the opera ... with the Deutsche Oper Card

If you have a Deutsche Oper Card, you have the opportunity to purchase tickets at special rates as early as 30 March. In addition, the Card entitles you to purchase up to two tickets per performance at a 25% discount for performances in price categories A, B, C, D, E and S (excluding third-party, Tischlerei and Foyer performances). The Deutsche Oper Card costs € 75.00 once and is valid for the 22/23 season.
Buy your card in the webshop

Generational performances 22/23

Children and young people under 18 pay only € 10.00 in advance, pensioners and retirees € 25.00 and that regardless of the chosen seat.
Our special price performances
Charles Mingus' EPITAPH on 19 September 2022

A centenary work beyond all borders

Titus Engel, a former bass player turned conductor, fulfils a dream of his youth in bringing Charles Mingus’ EPITAPH to the stage. He considers EPITAPH for two big bands the best piece to come out of the “Third Stream” movement, which combines elements of New Music and jazz.
To the concert at the Philharmonie
Thomas Fehrle on the conversion

Today orchestra pit, the day after tomorrow ladies' wing

Corona may not have turned managing director Thomas Fehrle into a juggler, but he does feel that he’s learned to do magic. The new season begins with renovation works: the second phase of the orchestra pit being overhauled. During this period, the company will be playing different venues in Berlin – Philharmonie, Tempodrom, Konzerthaus, Haus der Berliner Festspiele and Tischlerei. Since the beginning of his tenure in 2011, renovation has been a continuous facet of life at the Deutsche Ope. His job might seem like a cross between caretaker and therapist – Fehrle simply calls it responsible stewardship of valuable assets entrusted to the DOB staff.
Read more in the blog
SEMIRAMIDE, on 20, 22 October

On the trail of the great role model

A lover of Italian bel canto with its high drama and coloratura challenges, mezzo-soprano Vasilisa Berzhanskaya aims to to sing all ten roles Rossini tailor-wrote for the star soprano of his era, Isabella Colbran – including the upcoming SEMIRAMIDE.
A portrait of Berzhanskaya
Semiramide
Marc Albrecht conducts on 5 September 2022

No uneasiness in the culture

Music written between 1905 and 1920 – by Berg, Korngold and Zemlinsky – reflects this era when culture was unleashed and inebriated, and art the controlled space where a new, lustful gaze at the world reigned. Composers reached for brand-new harmonies and sonic colours, resulting in textures previously unknown and radiating erotomania.
To the concert at the Konzerthaus
22, 23, 24 September 2022 / Tempodrom

The Stuttgart Ballet presents "Pure Bliss" by Johan Inger

Choreographer Johan Inger presents the ballet evening “Pure Bliss”. Three pieces take the audience into different worlds: “Bliss”, inspired by Keith Jarrett’s “Köln Concert”, the proximity of life and death in “Out of Breath”, and a classical/modern hybrid of “Sleeping Beauty”.
All about Pure Bliss

Topics

FIDELIO, from 25 November 2022

No Beethoven without Wagner

»I refuse to accept boundaries between symphonic music and musical theatre. Every orchestra, every piece of music sings – whether there is a singer involved or not. Music breathes, the audience breathes with us, and I always try to make the orchestra sing. In his Ninth Symphony, Beethoven opened symphonic music to human voices, an epochal decision. FIDELIO is equally ground-breaking. It is the story of a liberation, one we have to keep telling as long as people suffer imprisonment. Not only in his music, but also in content, Beethoven is more topical than ever.«
Donald Runnicles in the blog
Fidelio
ARABELLA, from 18 March 20223

Curtain up for another Richard Strauss

ARABELLA, INTERMEZZO and DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN, Strauss’ often underestimated middle operas directed from this season by Tobias Kratzer as a small cycle, are all about societies undergoing change, with consequences for identities, roles and relationships. They also illuminate matrimony, a rare subject on the opera stage ...
7 questions to Tobias Kratzer
Arabella
OCEANE, from 6 January 2023

His mermaid returns

Despite three years and a pandemic between its successful premiere and its revival, composer Detlev Glanert feels that his opera OCEANE is still very present in his mind. It is his habit to revise every piece after its world premiere, incorporating insights gained during rehearsals. While his mindset was strongly affected by corona, rendering him unable to compose at times, his works, with the exception of “Der Einsiedler”, an orchestral song written for the Concertgebouw Orkest in Amsterdam, remained mainly uninfluenced.
3 Questions to Detlev Glanert
Oceane
FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, from 19 May 2023

Sara Jakubiak's view of the world

First Heliane, then Francesca di Rimini – soprano Sara Jakubiak embodies courageous women at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. Heliane is more memorable to her for her total, passionate abandonment to love than her full nudity on stage. To Jakubiak, exposure is more to do with vocal ability and truthfulness. Heliane and Francesca are role models for her in their uncompromising search for freedom: confronted with her own fears, these figures offer orientation, as they have chosen freedom.
Sara Jakubiak in the Blog
Francesca da Rimini
MATTHÄUS-PASSION, from 5 May 2023

The little ones carry the cross

The MATTHÄUS-PASSION may be the most complex choral work ever written. The director Benedikt von Peter takes Johann Sebastian Bach’s megalomania a bit further: with three choruses and four orchestras, each with its own organ. There will be eight singers on stage, plus an amateur chorus. The director is known for productions with a strong current political focus, such as the growing political awareness of children and teenagers since Fridays for Future and the coronavirus pandemic. Thus, young persons aged eight to twelve will play the tale of Jesu passion and crucifixion. This enables the audience to draw connections between the classic and current issues, such as the climate crisis.
Read in our blog
Matthäus-Passion
HÉRODIADE, from 15 June 2023

French Enchantment

The French mezzo-soprano Clémentine Margaine appears in Jules Massenet’s HÉRODIADE, the latest in a string of Parisian Grand Opéra of the 19th century she has presented at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, from Bizet’s CARMEN to Berlioz’ LA DAMNATION DE FAUST, Massenet’s DON QUICHOTTE and Meyerbeer’s LE PROPHÈTE. A proud ambassador for French opera in Paris, Margaine calls Massenet her favourite composer, his writing highly complex, but his melodies of enchanting simplicity and simple beauty: »To me, that is very French… a little bit lyrical, a little bit dramatic; the orchestra is large, the sound full and modern. Massenet is great opera – he should be played more often!«
Margaine on Massenet
Hérodiade
IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI, from 9 June 2023

The Maestro turns cinema into opera

Though he lives in Rome, Giorgio Battistelli’s work as a composer has long been bound up with musical life in Germany. Since his first visits in 1975 to study with Stockhausen and Kagel and a year in West Berlin in 1985, he has considered Germany is his “artistic homeland”. The former artistic director of Rome’s Opera and the Venice Biennial is artistic director of the Haydn Orchestra in Bolzano and Trento today. Yet “I have to return to Germany at regular intervals, otherwise I feel a sense of loss,” he declares. “To me, it is the most democratic country in the field of operatic music, because avant-garde and tradition coexist here.” This is the case at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where Battistelli’s opera IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI will now be performed. It commemorates the Italian director and author Pier Paolo Pasolini during the centenary of his birth. The figure of the mysterious guest in Pasolini’s TEOREMA – an exterminating angel, as Pasolini himself once suggested to Battistelli – has fascinated the composer for decades, and his opera examines family ties and how we treat that which is foreign to us.
read more

The Tischlerei

is a laboratory for the music theatre of our time, an experimental field for new sounds and current themes, contemporary forms and changing perspectives. The productions of this season deal with female realities, question the transcendental power of theatre and illustrate the insurmountable fronts and human costs of war.
About the Tischlerei schedule
NEGAR, World premiere on 29 October 2022

Love and fear in a world of the dictatorship

Starting with the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, NEGAR examines what happens when you turn around and return to your past. How do you shape your identity in a place full of prohibitions? Do you need others to become yourself? Signeyrole’s work resembles journalistic research, a mix of documentary and fiction, although the story itself is fictional. ... Keyvan Chemirani has extensively worked with jazz and baroque musicians, but writing for lyrical voices in NEGAR was a welcome challenge.
read more
29, 30 Oct; 1, 2, 3, 5, 6 Nov 2022

World premiere – Negar

Two women meet and fall in love - an everyday story. But not when it takes place in Tehran, where social life is marked by contradictions. An enormously high proportion of women at universities contrasts with laws that prohibit women from appearing in public without a veil. The French director Marie-Ève Signeyrole and the Iranian-French composer Keyvan Chemirani immerse themselves in this world full of ambiguities and write with NEGAR a music theatre about a love in the underground, about love as an act of resistance against a regime and the prevailing morals.
To the performances
3, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16 March 2023

World premiere – Karaoper

What if we could change the world? A future with fun, with clean seas and crystal clear blue skies, a world where justice prevails, where we can still travel and be with others from other countries ...? In the specially invented KARAOPER we want to dream together with children.
To the performances
21, 22, 24, 27 April 2023

World premiere – New Scenes VI

The NEUE SZENEN competition was and is intended as an opportunity for young composers to gain experience in the complex metier of music theatre and to find a way to their own individual music-dramatic language. The three winners will be given the opportunity to write a music theatre piece of approximately thirty minutes in length - performed by students of the Hanns Eisler Academy, who will also have the opportunity to gain experience in the field of contemporary opera. From a total of 119 entries, the jury had to choose the three winners for the sixth series: Sina Fani Sani (Iran), Germán Alonso (Spain) and Juta Pranulyté (Lithuania).
To the performances
21, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30 June; 1 July 2023

World premiere – Bär*in

The multi-perspective evening by composer Arne Gieshoff and director Franziska Angerer combines Nastassja Martin's story "Croire aux fauves" (Believing in the Wild) and Berlin's urban history from the bears' point of view into a dense compositional web. BÄR*IN is a hybrid evening about metamorphoses and an invitation to consider our world as a structure in which not only humans are active agents.
To the performances
BÄR*IN, first performance on 21 June 2023

Of bears, humans and intermediates

Inspired by Nastassja Martin’s autobiographical novel »In the Eye of the Wild«, which describes how the author survived an encounter with a bear in Siberia almost by miracle, and by the story of Berlin’s heraldic animal and the questionable practice of keeping three bears in a kennel in Berlin until 2015, the director Franziska Angerer and the composer Arne Gieshoff have devised a musical theatre work about identity, power, the assignment of roles, and the (fluid) distinctions between human and animal.
read more

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Willkommen

Verehrtes Publikum,

An dieser Stelle möchte ich mich ganz einfach bei Ihnen bedanken. Sie haben uns in dieser Zeit die Treue gehalten und Ihre Begeisterung, die wir bei den Aufführungen erleben durften, hat uns darin bestärkt, dass das Erleben von Kultur in so einer Zeit vielleicht noch wichtiger ist als sonst. Denn Oper und Theater schenken nicht nur kostbare Stunden, in denen man die Alltagssorgen vergessen kann, sondern sind auch Auseinandersetzungen mit der Sinnhaftigkeit unseres Lebens, der Zerbrechlichkeit unserer Vorstellung von Glück und unseren Sehnsüchten nach einer besseren Welt. Die Neuproduktionen, die wir Ihnen in dieser Spielzeit anbieten, zeigen das in größter Vielfalt. Bachs MATTHÄUS-PASSION, Beethovens FIDELIO und Verdis SIMON BOCCANEGRA sind jedes auf ihre Art Bekenntniswerke. Und ebenso wie Richard Strauss’ ARABELLA vor fast hundert Jahren die Frage stellte, wie man in einer Welt leben sollte, die ihren moralischen Halt verloren hat, stellt sich heute der Komponist Giorgio Battistelli in ILTEOREMA DI PASOLINI der Frage, wie gesellschaftliche Veränderung möglich ist. Gutes Musiktheater muss Fragen stellen. Die Antworten aber muss jeder für sich selbst finden, denn in jedem von uns löst das Erlebnis eines Opernabends andere Empfindungen und Gedanken aus.
weiterlesen

Künstliche Intelligenz und echtes Gefühl

Mit künstlicher Intelligenz übersetzt die Deutsche Oper die transformierende Kraft von Oper in neuartige Bildwelten. Die Kampagne der Markenagentur Stan Hema schickt Betrachter*innen auf Reisen ins eigene Erleben und stellt wichtige Fragen unserer Zeit
Lesen Sie über unsere Saisonkampagne
Erste Highlights und Premieren der Saison 22/23
Die Premieren 22/23 im Kalender
Premiere am 25. November 2022, 19.30 Uhr

Fidelio

Oper in zwei Aufzügen von Ludwig van Beethoven; Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Inszenierung: David Hermann; Mit Thomas Lehman, Markus Brück, Robert Watson, Ingela Brimberg, Tobias Kehrer u. a.
Zur Neuproduktion
Karten kaufen
Premiere am 29. Januar 2023, 18.00 Uhr

Simon Boccanegra

Oper in einem Vorspiel und drei Aufzügen von Giuseppe Verdi; Musikalische Leitung: Jader Bignamini; Inszenierung: Vasily Barkhatov; Mit George Petean, Attilio Glaser, Liang Li, Angel Blue, Michael Bachtadze u. a.
Zur Neuproduktion
Karten kaufen
Premiere am 18. März 2023

Arabella

Lyrische Komödie in drei Aufzügen von Richard Strauss; Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Inszenierung: Tobias Kratzer; Mit Albert Pesendorfer, Doris Soffel, Rachel Willis-Sørensen, Elena Tsallagova, Russel Braun, Robert Watson u. a.
Zur Neuproduktion
Karten kaufen
Premiere am 5. Mai 2023

Matthäus-Passion

Oratorium von Johann Sebastian Bach; Musikalische Leitung: Alessandro De Marchi; Inszenierung: Benedikt von Peter; Mit Sebastian Kohlhepp, Padraic Rowan, Joel Allison, Michael Bachtadze, Dean Murphy, Elbenita Kajtazi, Annika Schlicht u. a.
Zur Neuproduktion
Karten kaufen
Publikumspremiere am 19. Mai 2023

Francesca da Rimini

Tragedia in vier Akten und fünf Bildern von Riccardo Zandonai; Musikalische Leitung: Ivan Repušić; Inszenierung: Christof Loy; Mit Sara Jakubiak, Ivan Inverardi, Jonathan Tetelman, Charles Workman u. a.
Zur Neuproduktion
Karten kaufen
Uraufführung am 9. Juni 2023

Il Teorema di Pasolini

Oper von Giorgio Battistelli; Libretto vom Komponisten, frei nach dem gleichnamigen Film von Pier Paolo Pasolini; Musikalische Leitung: Daniel Cohen; Inszenierung: Dead Centre; Mit Barbara Frittoli, Davide Damiani, Monica Bacelli, Samuel Dale Johnson, Meechot Marrero, Andrei Danilov u. a.
Zur Neuproduktion
Karten kaufen
Premiere am 15. Juni 2023

Hérodiade [konzertant]

Oper in vier Akten von Jules Massenet; Musikalische Leitung: Enrique Mazzola; Mit Etienne Dupuis, Clémentine Margaine, Nicole Car, Matthew Polenzani, Marko Mimica u. a.
Zur konzertanten Oper
Karten kaufen

Unsere Saisonvorschau ist erschienen

Entdecken Sie, welche Werke neu in unserem Spielplan sind: als szenische Neuproduktionen auf der großen Bühne, als konzertante Aufführung oder in unserer zweiten Spielstätte Tischlerei, außerdem 29 Repertoirewerke von Mozart bis Langgaard, Konzerte, Liederabend und Jazz. Darüber hinaus Porträts, Essays und vieles mehr
PDF-Download
Kostenfrei bestellen

Generationenvorstellungen 22/23

Kinder und Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren zahlen im Vorverkauf nur € 10,00, Rentner*innen und Pensionär*innen € 25,00 und das unabhängig vom gewählten Platz.
Die Vorstellungen auf einen Blick

Günstiger in die Oper ... mit der Deutsche Oper Card

Wenn Sie eine Deutsche Oper Card besitzen, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, bereits am 30. März zu Sonderkonditionen Karten zu erwerben. Außerdem berechtigt Sie die Card zum Kauf von bis zu zwei Karten pro Vorstellung mit einer Ermäßigung von 25 % für Vorstellungen der Preiskategorien A, B, C, D, E und S (ausgenommen Fremd-, Tischlerei- und Foyervorstellungen). Die Deutsche Oper Card kostet einmalig € 75,00 und ist für die Spielzeit 22/23 gültig.
Kaufen Sie Ihre Card im Webshop
Charles Mingus' EPITAPH am 19. September 2022

Ein Jahrhundertwerk jenseits aller Grenzen

Titus Engel, ein ehemaliger Bassist, der zum Dirigenten wurde, erfüllt sich einen Jugendtraum, indem er Charles Mingus' EPITAPH auf die Bühne bringt. Er hält EPITAPH für zwei Bigbands für das beste Stück, das aus der „Third Stream“-Bewegung hervorgegangen ist, die Elemente der Neuen Musik und des Jazz verbindet.
Zum Konzert in der Philharmonie
Thomas Fehrle über den Umbau

Heute Orchestergraben, übermorgen Damenflügel

Corona hat Geschäftsführer Thomas Fehrle zwar nicht zum Jongleur gemacht, aber er hat das Gefühl, dass er zaubern gelernt hat. Die neue Spielzeit beginnt mit Renovierungsarbeiten: die zweite Phase der Überholung des Orchestergrabens. In dieser Zeit wird das Ensemble an verschiedenen Spielorten in Berlin zu sehen sein - Philharmonie, Tempodrom, Konzerthaus, Haus der Berliner Festspiele und Tischlerei. Seit Beginn seiner Amtszeit im Jahr 2011 ist die Renovierung eine ständige Facette des Lebens in der Deutschen Oper. Sein Job mag wie eine Mischung aus Hausmeister und Therapeut wirken - Fehrle nennt es einfach den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit dem wertvollen Gut, das den Mitarbeitern der DOB anvertraut ist.
Lesen Sie weiter im Blog
SEMIRAMIDE, am 20., 22. Oktober

Dem großen Vorbild auf der Spur

Die Mezzosopranistin Vasilisa Berzhanskaya ist eine Liebhaberin des italienischen Belcanto mit seinen hochdramatischen und koloraturbetonten Herausforderungen und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, alle zehn Rollen zu singen, die Rossini für die Starsopranistin seiner Zeit, Isabella Colbran, geschrieben hat - darunter auch die kommende Semiramide.
Berzhanskaya im Porträt
Semiramide
Marc Albrecht dirigiert am 5. September 2022

Kein Unbehagen in der Kultur

Die zwischen 1905 und 1920 entstandene Musik von Berg, Korngold und Zemlinsky spiegelt diese Zeit wider, in der die Kultur entfesselt und berauscht war und die Kunst der kontrollierte Raum, in dem ein neuer, lustvoller Blick auf die Welt herrschte. Die Komponisten griffen nach ganz neuen Harmonien und Klangfarben, die zu bis dahin unbekannten, Erotomanie ausstrahlenden Texturen führten. Erleben Sie u. a. EINE FLORENTINISCHE TRAGÖDIE...
Zum Konzert im Konzerthaus
22., 23., 24. September 2022 / Tempodrom

Das Stuttgarter Ballett präsentiert „Pure Bliss“ von Johan Inger

Ist BLISS inspiriert von Keith Jarretts legendärem „Köln Concert“, so widmet sich OUT OF BREATH der Nähe von Leben und Tod. AURORA’S NAP schließlich schlägt die Brücke zwischen klassischem Ballett und modern dance. Drei Choreografien von Johan Inger, so unterschiedlich wie die Kunstform.
Alles zum Ballettabend Pure Bliss

Themen

FIDELIO, ab 25. November 2022

Ohne Wagner kein Beethoven

»Ich weigere mich, Grenzen zwischen symphonischer Musik und Musiktheater zu akzeptieren. Jedes Orchester, jedes Musikstück singt - egal ob ein Sänger beteiligt ist oder nicht. Die Musik atmet, das Publikum atmet mit uns, und ich versuche immer, das Orchester zum Singen zu bringen. In seiner Neunten Symphonie öffnete Beethoven die symphonische Musik für menschliche Stimmen, eine epochale Entscheidung. FIDELIO ist ebenso bahnbrechend. Es ist die Geschichte einer Befreiung, die wir immer wieder erzählen müssen, solange Menschen in Gefangenschaft leben. Nicht nur in seiner Musik, sondern auch inhaltlich ist Beethoven aktueller denn je.«
Donald Runnicles im Blog
Fidelio
ARABELLA, ab 18. März 2023

Vorhang auf für einen anderen Richard Strauss

ARABELLA, INTERMEZZO und DIE FRAU OHNE SCHATTEN, Strauss' oft unterschätzte mittlere Opern, die ab dieser Spielzeit von Tobias Kratzer als kleiner Zyklus inszeniert werden, handeln alle von Gesellschaften im Wandel, mit Folgen für Identitäten, Rollen und Beziehungen. Sie beleuchten auch die Ehe, ein seltenes Thema auf der Opernbühne
7 Fragen an Tobias Kratzer
Arabella
OCEANE, ab 6. Januar 2023

Seine Nixe kehrt zurück

Obwohl drei Jahre und eine Pandemie zwischen der erfolgreichen Uraufführung und der Wiederaufnahme liegen, hat der Komponist Detlev Glanert das Gefühl, dass seine Oper OCEANE immer noch sehr präsent in seinem Kopf ist. Er hat die Angewohnheit, jedes Stück nach der Uraufführung zu überarbeiten und die bei den Proben gewonnenen Erkenntnisse einfließen zu lassen. Während seine Psyche durch Corona stark beeinträchtigt wurde und er zeitweise nicht mehr komponieren konnte, blieben seine Werke, mit Ausnahme von "Der Einsiedler", einem für das Concertgebouw Orkest in Amsterdam geschriebenen Orchesterlied, weitgehend unbeeinflusst.
3 Fragen an Detlev Glanert
Oceane
FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, ab 19. Mai 2023

Sara Jakubiaks Blick auf die Welt

Erst Heliane, dann Francesca di Rimini – die Sopranistin Sara Jakubiak verkörpert an der Deutschen Oper Berlin mutige Frauen. Heliane ist ihr mehr durch ihre totale, leidenschaftliche Hingabe an die Liebe in Erinnerung geblieben als durch ihre volle Nacktheit auf der Bühne. Für Jakubiak hat die Entblößung eher etwas mit stimmlichem Können und Wahrhaftigkeit zu tun. Heliane und Francesca sind für sie Vorbilder in ihrer kompromisslosen Suche nach Freiheit: Mit ihren eigenen Ängsten konfrontiert, bieten diese Figuren Orientierung, denn sie haben sich für die Freiheit entschieden.
Sara Jakubiak im Blog
Francesca da Rimini
MATTHÄUS-PASSION, ab 5. Mai 2023

Das Kreuz tragen die Kleinen

Die MATTHÄUS-PASSION ist vielleicht das komplexeste Chorwerk, das je geschrieben wurde. Der Regisseur Benedikt von Peter treibt Johann Sebastian Bachs Größenwahn noch ein Stück weiter: mit drei Chören und vier Orchestern, jedes mit eigener Orgel. Auf der Bühne werden acht Sängerinnen und Sänger sowie ein Laienchor zu hören sein. Der Regisseur ist bekannt für Produktionen mit starkem aktuellen politischen Bezug, wie etwa das wachsende politische Bewusstsein von Kindern und Jugendlichen seit Fridays for Future und der Coronavirus-Pandemie. So werden Jugendliche im Alter von acht bis zwölf Jahren die Geschichte von Jesu Passion und Kreuzigung spielen. So kann das Publikum Verbindungen zwischen dem Klassiker und aktuellen Themen wie der Klimakrise herstellen.
Lesen Sie im Blog
Matthäus-Passion
HÉRODIADE, ab 15. Juni 2023

Französischer Zauber

Die französische Mezzosopranistin Clémentine Margaine tritt in Jules Massenets HÉRODIADE auf, der letzten in einer Reihe von Pariser Grand Opéra des 19. Jahrhunderts, die sie an der Deutschen Oper Berlin präsentiert hat, von Bizets CARMEN bis zu Berlioz' LA DAMNATION DE FAUST, Massenets DON QUICHOTTE und Meyerbeers LE PROPHÈTE. Als stolze Botschafterin der französischen Oper in Paris bezeichnet Margaine Massenet als ihren Lieblingskomponisten, dessen Werke sehr komplex sind, dessen Melodien jedoch von bezaubernder Schlichtheit und einfacher Schönheit: "Für mich ist das sehr französisch... ein bisschen lyrisch, ein bisschen dramatisch; das Orchester ist groß, der Klang voll und modern. Massenet ist große Oper - er sollte öfter gespielt werden!"
Margaine über Massenet
Hérodiade
Der Maestro  macht Kino zu Oper
IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI, ab 9 Juni 2023

Der Maestro macht Kino zu Oper

Obwohl er in Rom lebt, ist Giorgio Battistellis Arbeit als Komponist seit langem mit dem Musikleben in Deutschland verbunden. Seit seinen ersten Besuchen 1975 zum Studium bei Stockhausen und Kagel und einem Jahr in West-Berlin 1985 betrachtet er Deutschland als seine „künstlerische Heimat“. Der ehemalige künstlerische Leiter der Oper in Rom und der Biennale in Venedig ist heute künstlerischer Leiter des Haydn-Orchesters in Bozen und Trient. Doch „ich muss in regelmäßigen Abständen nach Deutschland zurückkehren, sonst empfinde ich ein Gefühl des Verlustes“, erklärt er. „Für mich ist es das demokratischste Land im Bereich der Opernmusik, weil hier Avantgarde und Tradition nebeneinander existieren.“ So auch an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, wo nun Battistellis Oper IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI aufgeführt wird. Sie erinnert an den italienischen Regisseur und Autor Pier Paolo Pasolini anlässlich seines hundertsten Geburtstages. Die Figur des geheimnisvollen Gastes in Pasolinis TEOREMA - ein Vernichtungsengel, wie Pasolini selbst Battistelli einmal vorschlug - hat den Komponisten seit Jahrzehnten fasziniert, und seine Oper untersucht Familienbande und den Umgang mit dem Fremden.
weiterlesen

Die Tischlerei

ist ein Labor für das Musiktheater unserer Zeit, ein Experimentierfeld für neue Klänge und aktuellen Themen, zeitgenössischen Formen und wechselnden Perspektiven. Die Produktionen dieser Spielzeit setzen sich mit weiblichen Realitäten auseinander, fragen nach der transzendentalen Kraft des Theaters und veranschaulichen die unüberwindbaren Fronten und die menschlichen Kosten des Krieges.
Über das Tischlereiprogramm
Liebe und Angst in der Diktatur
NEGAR, Uraufführung am 29. Oktober 2022

Liebe und Angst in der Diktatur

Ausgehend von dem Mythos von Orpheus und Eurydike untersucht NEGAR, was passiert, wenn man sich umdreht und in seine Vergangenheit zurückkehrt. Wie formt man seine Identität an einem Ort, der voller Verbote ist? Braucht man andere, um man selbst zu werden? Signeyroles Arbeit ähnelt einer journalistischen Recherche, einer Mischung aus Dokumentation und Fiktion, obwohl die Geschichte selbst fiktiv ist. ... Keyvan Chemirani hat viel mit Jazz- und Barockmusikern gearbeitet, aber das Schreiben für lyrische Stimmen in NEGAR war eine willkommene Herausforderung.
weiterlesen
29., 30. Okt.; 1., 2., 3., 5., 6. Nov. 2022

Uraufführung – Negar

Zwei Frauen treffen aufeinander und verlieben sich – eine durchaus alltägliche Geschichte. Nicht jedoch, wenn sie in Teheran spielt, wo das gesellschaftliche Leben geprägt ist von Widersprüchen. Einem enorm hohen Frauenanteil an Universitäten stehen Gesetze gegenüber, die Frauen verbieten sich ohne Verschleierung in der Öffentlichkeit zu zeigen. Die französische Regisseurin Marie-Eve Signeyrole und der iranisch-französische Komponist Keyvan Chemirani tauchen ein in diese Welt voller Ambiguitäten und schreiben mit NEGAR ein Musiktheater über eine Liebe im Untergrund, über die Liebe als einen Akt des Widerstandes gegen ein Regime und die herrschende Moral.
Zur Neuproduktion
3., 6., 9., 10., 11., 13., 14., 15., 16. März 2023

Uraufführung – Karaoper

Wie wäre es, wenn wir die Welt verändern könnten? Eine Zukunft mit Spaß, mit sauberen Meeren und glasklar blauem Himmel, eine Welt, in der Gerechtigkeit herrscht, in der wir doch noch reisen und mit anderen aus anderen Ländern zusammen sein können …? In der eigens erfundenen KARAOPER wollen wir mit Kindern zusammen träumen.
Zur Neuproduktion
21., 22., 24., 27. April 2023

Uraufführung – Neue Szenen VI

Der Wettbewerb NEUE SZENEN war und ist als Chance für junge Komponist innen gedacht, Erfahrungen im komplexen Metier des Musiktheaters zu sammeln und einen Weg zu einer eigenen individuellen musikdramatischen Sprache zu finden. Die drei Gewinner*innen erhalten die Möglichkeit, ein Musiktheater von ungefähr dreißig Minuten Länge zu verfassen – aufgeführt durch Studierende der Hochschule Hanns Eisler, denen so ebenfalls eine Möglichkeit eröffnet wird, Erfahrungen im Bereich Zeitgenössischer Oper zu sammeln. Aus insgesamt 119 Einsendungen hatte die Jury die drei Gewinner*innen für die sechste Folge zu ermitteln: Sina Fani Sani (Iran), Germán Alonso (Spanien) und Juta Pranulyté (Litauen).
Zur Neuproduktion
21., 22., 24., 26., 28., 30. Juni; 1. Juli 2023

Uraufführung – Bär*in

Der multiperspektivische Abend von Komponist Arne Gieshoff und Regisseurin Franziska Angerer verknüpft Nastassja Martins Erzählung „An das Wilde glauben“ und Berliner Stadtgeschichte aus Sicht der Bären zu einem dichten kompositorischen Netz. BÄR*IN ist ein hybrider Abend über Metamorphosen und eine Einladung dazu, unsere Welt als ein Gefüge zu betrachten, in der nicht nur der Mensch aktiver Handlungsträger ist.
Zur Neuproduktion
Von Bären, Menschen und Zwischenwesen
Von Bären, Menschen und Zwischenwesen

Von Bären, Menschen und Zwischenwesen

Inspiriert von Nastassja Martins autobiografischem Roman „An das Wilde glauben“, der beschreibt, wie die Autorin eine Begegnung mit einem Bären in Sibirien wie durch ein Wunder überlebte, und von der Geschichte des Berliner Wappentiers und der fragwürdigen Praxis der Haltung von drei Bären in einem Berliner Zwinger bis 2015, haben die Regisseurin Franziska Angerer und der Komponist Arne Gieshoff ein Musiktheaterstück über Identität, Macht, Rollenzuweisung und die (fließenden) Grenzen zwischen Mensch und Tier entwickelt.
weiterlesen

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter